Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, August 26, 2001


Jacquelyn Dowsett of Honolulu, a student at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, received a $1,000 scholarship from Delta Gamma Foundation. Dowsett was the only Hawai'i recipient among 200 scholarship and fellowship winners in the United States and Canada.

The Big Island Press Club awarded scholarships to the following students pursuing careers in journalism: Peter Sur, a 2000 graduate of Waiakea High, $1,500 Robert C. Miller Scholarship and $500 Jack Markey Memorial Scholarship; Erin Cabral, a 2001 graduate of Hilo High, $500 Yukino Fukabori Memorial Scholarship.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation awarded $4,000 Regional Coca-Cola Scholars college scholarships to Jennifer Ah-Kee and Erin Tanaka, both graduates of Baldwin High.

The Scholarships for Military Children Program, initiated by the federal Defense Commissary Agency, awarded $1,500 college scholarships to the following students: Mary Geraldine Catungal of 'Ewa Beach, Darling Dumlao of 'Ewa Beach, Laurel Fox of 'Aiea, Tiffany Heu of Honolulu, Aaron Isaki of Honolulu, Shelly Migita of Mililani, Stacy Thomas of Honolulu.