Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, June 10, 2001


Leiana Kinnicutt of Kailua was awarded a Public Interest Summer Fellowship from Bowdoin College. She will receive $3,000 and will work at Volunteer Legal Services in Honolulu. Kinnicutt, a sophomore at Bowdoin, is one of eight students receiving fellowships for the year 2001.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Lambda Chi Omega Chapter, Hawai'i, awarded scholarships to the following high school students: Tiffanie A. Reese of Radford High, $2,500; Natasha J. Murray of Wai'anae High, $2,000; Cherina M. Tucker of Mililani High, $1,500; Zoe Sue-Ellen Hay of Kalaheo High, $1,000; Carrie Moea Brown of Pearl City High, $4,000; and Brittany T. Stampley of Moanalua High, $3,000.

The American Association of University Women-Windward Branch awarded scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,000 to the following Windward residents: Pauahi Nahoe, Ginger Royal, Ronda Rapozo, Betty Akau and Ululani Maku'e.

The Chinese Women's Club of Honolulu announced its college scholarship recipients: Nicole H. Fujie, University of Hawai'i-Hilo; and Shin Houy Ho, Joanna A.T. Lee, Krystal Y.G. Lee, Heather E.M.L. Liu and Steven J.K. Lum, all of UH-Manoa.

The Discover Card Tribute Award Scholarship program awarded $2,500 to the following high school students: Cherry J. Cachero, Farrington High; Aaron J. Hamer, McKinley High; Wilson A. Unga, Kahuku High; Stephanie S. Hagio, Baldwin High; Tessa K. Munekiyo, Baldwin High; and Yu-Tzu (Debbie) Liu, St. Andrew's Priory.

The Hawai'i Alliance for Arts Education announced the recipients of the 2001 School Arts Excellence Awards. They are: Kahuku High and Intermediate School, Roosevelt High School, Wai'anae High School, Honolulu Waldorf School, Mid-Pacific School of the Arts at Mid-Pacific Institute and Seabury Hall.

The Hawaii Dental Association recognized the outstanding work of the following students whose projects were part of the 44th annual Hawai'i State Science & Engineering Fair: Kawika A. Mortensen of Kailua, Kamehameha Secondary School; Amy N. Congdon of Mililani, St. Andrew's Priory; and Kalikolehua K. Hurley of Mililani and Nicole Shishido of 'Aiea, Kamehameha Secondary School.

The following students are recipients of the Paul S. Honda International Scholarship, which provides international opportunities for University of Hawai'i community college students: Christopher MacDonald and Lori Ann Admiral of Kapi'olani Community College, Margaret Chesler and Duane Miller of Kaua'i Community College and Kealani Rosskopf and Lee-Ann Arakaki of Leeward Community College. The students will collectively receive a total of $15,000 in funds to study abroad.

Pearlridge Center announced the winners of the Keiki Snack Attack contest. The recipes were chosen based upon uniqueness, affordability and ease of preparation. The winning youngsters will each receive a $25 Pearlridge gift certificate. They are: Sasha and Stanton Barbadillo of Mililani, Christian Tolentino of Kalihi, McKenna and Riley Noland of 'Aiea, Vanessa Kop of Pearl City, David Kop of Pearl City, Joseph Patnaude of Honolulu, Bryson Nakatani of Manoa and Alyson Rod of Pearl City.