Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, May 2, 2001

Democrats name four to help state redraw election districts

By Ronna Bolante
Advertiser Capitol Bureau

The state Office of Elections announced yesterday the Democratic Party's appointments to the state Reapportionment Commission, which will redraw election district lines to match the new population figures of the 2000 census.

The commission, a nine-member body that meets every 10 years, will redraw election district lines for the two U.S. congressional districts, the 51-member state House and the 25-member state Senate.

House Speaker Calvin Say, D-18th (Palolo, St. Louis, Kaimuki), appointed Harold Masumoto, executive director of The Research Corporation of the University of Hawai'i, and Lori Hoo, director of community relations at Hawaiian Electric Co. Inc.

Masumoto also headed the Office of State Planning and the Public Utilities Commission and served as special assistant to former Gov. John Waihee.

Hoo managed the Hawai'i Community Development Authority and held public-relations positions with The Nature Conservancy of Hawai'i and Moloka'i Ranch Ltd.

Senate President Robert Bunda, D-22nd (Wahiawa, Waialua, Sunset Beach), named Lynn Kinney, business organizer of the International Brotherhood of Painters and Allied Trades Local 1791, and David Rae, manager of public affairs for Campbell Estate.

Last month, Republicans appointed attorney Rick Clifton, who also served on the 1991 Reapportionment Commission; Deron Akiona, managing director of Anesthesia Medical Group Inc.; Jill Frierson, former director of both the House and Senate Minority Research Offices; and small-businessman Kenny Lum, a former restaurateur.

The eight members will convene before May 31 to select the ninth member, who will serve as chairperson.