Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, May 13, 2001


Advertiser Staff

Caitlin Fackrell, a student at Kalaheo High and a Navy Junior ROTC cadet, received the Navy Junior ROTC Joseph C. Gilliam Academic Achievement Award from the chief of naval education and training. Fackrell, the only recipient from Hawai'i, was among eight students from across the United States to receive the award. Each winner receives an award citation signed by Vice Adm. John W. Craine Jr., chief of naval education and training, as well as a $1,000 cash award.

Tiffany Alohelani Gois, a student at Roosevelt High from 'Ewa Beach, was named Miss Hawaii National Teen-Ager. Gois will represent Hawai'i at the national pageant in Nashville on July 28. The National Teen-Ager Scholarship Foundation is a nonprofit educational foundation.

Leighton Ige of 'Iolani School and Cheryl Inouye of Pearl City High have been selected to attend Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering in Massachusetts. Founders of the college, a start-up engineering school slated to begin classes in 2002, hope to create a new model for teaching engineering. More than 600 students nationwide applied, and Ige and Inouye were the only Hawai'i residents among 30 students who were accepted.

Ada Lum of Kalihi received the Distinguished Award for Service to Society from Wheaton College. Lum, the first Asian American to receive the award, was recognized for her service to the Christian community.

Annabel Murray, coordinator of Na Keiki Law Center, a project of Volunteer Legal Services Hawai'i, received the Hawai'i Women's Legal Foundation Rhoda Lewis Award for Public Service.