Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, May 13, 2001

Waiakea makes history at state golf title

Advertiser Staff

The Waiakea boys golf team became the first high school to win four consecutive state golf team championships yesterday.

Waiakea finished with a 598 as it won the David S. Ishii Foundation Boys State Golf Championships at the Kapalua Village Course on Maui.

Kaua'i won its first girls team title at the Ka'anapali South Course on Maui.

"It's indescribable," Waiakea boys coach Lee Hardy said. "We had a shot at history. As soon as we won our third championship, we knew no one's done four in a row. It was hard to not hear it. You can't stop people from talking about it."

Waiakea's Jarett Hamamoto took medalist honors with a 36-hole total of 1-over-par 141. Teammate Gabriel Wilson (143) finished second and Nick Mason (145) of Leilehua placed third.

"It feels good," Hamamoto said. "It was a little windy but not too bad. This year I peaked at the right time."

Leilehua (615) finished second and Lahainaluna (617) third.

The Punahou boys won three consecutive titles from 1995-97.

The Kaua'i girls finished with a 457. Defending champion Waiakea (468) finished second and Punahou (495) third.

Kaua'i's Rachel Kyono easily won the individual title with a 143. Waiakea's Leah Whiting (151) finished second, and Kira-Ann Murishige and Joan Shimozaki of Seabury finished at 152.

"Rachel had her personal goals, and our team goal was to win the team championship," Kaua'i coach Kellie Pleas said. "She had a great KIF season and finished very strong."

Kyono was the lone senior competing for Kaua'i yesterday. Lehua Wise, who finished tied for fifth with a 154, is a sophomore and the four other state qualifiers are freshmen.

"It was a little windy the second time around," Kyono said. "It was hot. I'm very tired right now. It's a good thing we rode (in golf carts)."

Defending girls champion Merynn Ito of 'Aiea finished with a 154.

There have been only three girls state championships. Punahou won in 1999 and Waiakea last year.