Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, May 21, 2001

Kalaheo, 'Aiea stars headline honorees

Advertiser Staff

The two keys players in tonight's state girls basketball championship head the 2001 class of the Nissan Hawai'i High School Hall of Honor.

Kalaheo's Brandy Richardson and 'Aiea's Aritta Lane, who will likely go head-to-head in the title game, are among 12 senior student-athletes announced today by Nissan Hawai'i.

"For some 18 years we have committed to Hawaii's youth through the Hall of Honor program," Nissan Hawai'i president Eric Miyasaki said. "It is this commitment that continually challenges us to better support the education and development of our most precious resource."

Richardson is expected to be named to the all-state team for the fourth year in a row and could be named Player of the Year for the third straight year. Lane is a strong all-state candidate as well as an all-league volleyball player.

Also in the Class of 2001 are:

  • Pesefea Fiaseu (St. Louis), the state Offensive Player of the Year in football and an all-league soccer player.
  • Aaron Francisco (Kahuku), an all-state football player and all-league basketball player.
  • Nicole Garbin (Baldwin), a two-time state Player of the Year in soccer, Maui Player of the Year in basketball and a volleyball standout.
  • Natasha Kai (Kahuku), an all-state soccer player, all-league volleyball player, double winner in state track and basketball player.
  • Rachel Kyono (Kaua'i), the state girls golf champion and reigning Hawai'i State Women's Golf Association Stroke Play champion.
  • Milia Macfarlane (Punahou), the state Player of the Year in volleyball and a returning all-state player in basketball.
  • Mark Rodrigues (Kaua'i), an all-state volleyball player and all-league baseball player.
  • Edward Ruhland (Hilo), the state Player of the Year in soccer and all-league football player.
  • Joelle Sugai ('Aiea), an all-state soccer player and all-league volleyball player.
  • Shannon Tabion (Baldwin), the state Pitcher of the Year in softball and state discus champion in track and field.

This Class of 2001 will be inducted into the Hall of Honor at a dinner June 3 at the Hawai'i Prince Hotel. In addition to a $2,000 scholarship, each will receive a commemorative gold ring, a personalized action poster and a certificate.

Tickets for the banquet are $20 and may be purchased by calling Lynn Sato at Nissan Hawai'i (836-0888). Tickets must be ordered by noon May 29.