Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, May 22, 2001

Isle File
Aulea's Phillips sets record at swimming nationals

Advertiser Staff

Brett Phillips of the Aulea Swim Club set a national age-division record for the 1000-yard freestyle at last week's Short Course National Championships in Santa Clara, Calif.

Phillips, 43, finished the race in 9 minutes, 45.97 seconds. He placed second overall in the event behind 35-year-old Randy Eckhoff (9:39.44).

James Krueger, a Hawai'i swimmer competing with the Olympic Club of San Francisco, also made a big splash at the meet. Krueger, 62, competed in five events, placing first in his age group in the 50-yard breast stroke (34.04), second in the 100-yard breast (1:16.72) and third in the 50-yard freestyle (25.86).


Ito, DeBusk honored: 'Aiea High senior Merynn Ito and Mililani High senior Ryan DeBusk are the recipients of the 2001 Golf Media Association of Hawai'i's Bill Gee and Monte Ito scholarships.

Ito and DeBusk received their $1,500 scholarships Friday at the annual fund-raising tournament at Coral Creek. Ito will be attending Nebraska in the fall on a golf scholarship, while DeBusk is heading to the University of Southern California on an academic scholarship.

Ito works on the Ka Leo O 'Aiea newspaper staff. She was the 2000 girls state high school champion, and finished second as a freshman. She has represented Hawai'i at Public Links, Junior Worlds, Junior America's Cup and the 2000 PGA Junior national championship.

DeBusk has been a staff member on the Trojan Times for two years, serving as assistant editor. He is also the school treasurer and qualified for the state tournament by cutting his scoring average 10 strokes from last year.

The memorial scholarships are named after Monte Ito, former Honolulu Advertiser sportswriter, and Bill Gee, former associate sports editor of the Honolulu Star-Bulletin. Both were avid golfers.


Seeking three: The University of Hawai'i is one of five schools that have qualified teams to compete in the Women's National Championship (May 29-31), Team Race National Championship (June 3-5) and Dinghy National Championship (June 6-8).