Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, October 3, 2001


Advertiser Staff

University of Hawai'i faculty and staff recently were honored at the 2001 Awards Convocation Ceremony. Awardees were:

• Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching: Dana Bekeart, professor of philosophy, Kaua'i Community College; Kent Bridges, associate professor, Department of Botany, College of Natural Sciences, UH-Manoa; A. Didrick Castberg, professor of political science, College of Arts and Sciences, UH-Hilo; Harry Davis, associate professor of natural science/chemistry, Kapi'olani Community College; Rowena Fong, associate professor, School of Social Work, UH-Manoa; E. Dean Garrett, professor/coordinator, Wai'anae Campus, Leeward Community College; David Hanlon, professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Humanities, UH-Manoa; John Hardman, professor, Department of Pathology, John A. Burns School of Medicine, UH-Manoa; Mikahala Helm, assistant professor, counseling/guidance/student services, Maui Community College; Chris Iijima, assistant professor/director of pre-admissions, William S. Richardson School of Law, UH-Manoa; Carolyn Kyyhkynen, instructor of speech, Hawai'i Community College; Wei-Ling Landers, instructor/mathematics, Windward Community College; Karen Umemoto, assistant professor, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, College of Social Sciences, UH-Manoa; Robert Vericker, assistant professor, Administration of Justice Program, Honolulu Community College.

• Board of Regents' Medal for Excellence in Research: Nina Etkin, professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Social Sciences, UH-Manoa; Michael Landry, professor, Department of Oceanography, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, UH-Manoa; Maqsudul Alam, associate professor, Department of Microbiology, College of Natural Sciences, UH-Manoa.

• Willard Wilson Award for Distinguished Service to the University: Les Murakami, former head coach, UH-Manoa baseball program.

• The President's Award for Excellence in Building and Grounds Maintenance: Iona Iona Jr., custodian, UH-West O'ahu.

• Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching: Michael Delucchi, associate professor of sociology, UH-West O'ahu; Paul Field, assistant professor of history, Windward Community College; Vincent Ryan Linares, associate professor of general language arts and English, Maui Community College; Peter Richard Mills, associate professor of anthropology, UH-Hilo; Carolyn Neel, doctoral candidate, history, UH-Manoa; Maryann Overstreet, assistant professor/German, UH-Manoa; Jerry Saviano, instructor/language arts, Honolulu Community College.

• Robert W. Clopton Award for Outstanding Service to the Community: Charles Fletcher, professor, Department of Geology/Geophysics, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, UH-Manoa.

• University of Hawai'i at Manoa 'Ohana Award for Outstanding Service to Students: Darleen Morioka Dyer, coordinator/undergraduate services, officer of Student Academic Services, College of Business Administration.