Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, April 9, 2002

Hawai'i Pacific beaten in ninth inning, 16-15

Advertiser Staff

Jose Montes hit a walk-off home run in the bottom of the ninth inning as Cal State-Dominguez Hills defeated Hawai'i Pacific, 16-15, yesterday at the Dennis Gilbert Field in Los Angeles.

The Sea Warriors rallied from a five-run deficit to tie the score at 15 in the top of the ninth. Wade Taguchi and Derek Little hit RBI singles, an error by Toros shortstop Jesus Hernandez allowed two runs, and a fielder's choice scored the other.

Taguchi also doubled, homered and drove in three runs. Travis Covey doubled, homered and also had three RBIs for the Sea Warriors.

Hawai'i Pacific fell to 18-24, Cal State-Dominguez Hills improved to 25-18-1.

The teams close the three-game series today with a doubleheader.


Hayashi, Ishii leading: he team of Kevin Hayashi and David Ishii shot a 62 yesterday to take a four-stroke lead after the first round of the Aloha Section PGA Pro-Pro Championship at Ko Olina Golf Club.

Jerry Mullen and Mark Takahama were second at 66, followed by five teams at 67.

The final round will be held today, starting at 7 a.m.

Imamura top Amatour: Grant Imamura won the inaugural Amatour City Fender Tournament Sunday, shooting a two-day total of 150 (72-78) at the par-72 Luana Hills Country Club.

Mark West finished second with 77—154, followed by five others with 155.

UH in last place: University of Hawai'i's Norman-Ganin Asao shot a 2-over par 72 yesterday in the Western Intercollegiate tournament at the Pasatiempo Golf Course in Santa Cruz, Calif.

Asao is in 20th place. The Warriors are last in the 17-team field with a 309 total.

Washington is the only team under par with a 4-under 276. Isaac Weintraub of San Jose State leads individuals with a 4-under 66.


Chat with Warriors: University of Hawai'i men's volleyball players Eyal Zimet and Dejan Miladinovic will be guests of a Honolulu Advertiser on-line chat at 7 p.m. tomorrow. Click here to register.