Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, January 3, 2002

Recognition for students' achievements

Advertiser Staff

University of Hawai'i-Manoa student Shon McCormack was among 300 Washington Center interns recognized by Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.) for their resilience in continuing their internships in the wake of the Sept. 11 tragedy.

Kerry encouraged all students to remain resolute and proud of the values for which the nation stands and to honor those lives lost, by embracing the symbols of freedom, democracy and liberty through public service and government work.

The mission of the Washington Center is to prepare students for civic leadership through experiential education.

• More than 400 students, faculty and parents recently gathered at Pomfret School's Lewis Gymnasium to recognize 31 students for achieving academic excellence in a variety of disciplines during the 2000-01 school year.

Among the students recognized was Tamotsu Hirai of Honolulu, who received an award for Latin III.

Pomfret School is a co-educational boarding and day college-preparatory school for students in grades 9 to 12 and post-graduate level, in Pomfret, Conn.

• The O'ahu Mathematics League meet was held during October.

• Division A winners were: Iolani School, first place; Punahou School, second; McKinley High School, third; Kamehameha Schools, fourth; Roosevelt High School, fifth.

• Division B: Hanalani High, first; Sacred Hearts Academy, second; Moloka'i High, third.

• Junior Varsity: Iolani School, first; Kamehameha Schools, second; McKinley High School, third; Punahou School, fourth.

Contestants who received perfect scores were: Vallent Lee, Kaiser High; Yuan Chen, McKinley High; James Park, McKinley High; Matthew Ardo, Iolani School; Kelly Nakamura, Iolani School; and Ina Tang, Iolani School.

• Frances Shimotsu was awarded the Scepter and Key Award by Pi Lambda Theta, an international honor society and professional association in education. The award was presented in recognition of her many years of outstanding service to the association.

• The O'ahu Retired Teachers Association has awarded scholarships to the following students: University of Hawai'i freshman Justin Akagi, an electrical engineering/computer science major; Nathan Chang, a freshman education major; and Janice Panganiban, a junior nursing major.

Also, freshman Anne Marie Perry, a Leeward Community College speech pathology major; sophomore Sonya Wah Yick, a Honolulu Community College social work major; and freshman Robert Yanagihashi, a Honolulu Community College computer science major.

• The Kula Community Federal Credit Union has awarded $3,500 scholarship grants to four Maui students: Kelcie Otani, a 2001 Baldwin High School graduate who plans to pursue a degree in computer sciences; Jessica Janosko, a St. Anthony High School graduate who will pursue a degree in psychology at the University of Dallas; Althea Havelin, a senior at Seabury Hall and an honor student majoring in art; and Christie Russell, who is attending Maui Community College and wants to become an attorney.