Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Saturday, January 26, 2002

Waikoloa loses No. 2, No. 3 seeds in quarterfinals

Advertiser Staff

Vince Spadea defeated No. 3 seed Michael Chang, 7-6 (2),6-3 yesterday to advance to the semifinals of the 2002 Hilton Waikoloa Village USTA Challenger on the Big Island.

Spadea plays top seed James Blake in today's semifinals.

Blake continued to punish the field with an easy 6-2, 6-1 demolition of Swedish qualifier Bjorn Rehnquist. In three matches, Blake, a runner-up here last year to Andy Roddick, has yet to face a set point.

In other quarterfinal matches, No. 2 seed Michael Russell was upset by big-serving Dutchman Martin Verkerk 4-6, 6-3, 6-3, and American Robby Ginepri, 19, the youngest player in field, scored an impressive 6-3, 1-6, 6-2, win over 2000 Waikoloa champion Paul Goldstein.



James Blake (USA) and Justin Gimelstob (USA) def. Michael Joyce (USA) and Kevin Kim (USA) 6-2, 6-0

Today's Schedule


Robby Ginepri (USA) vs. Martin Verkerk (NED)

James Blake (USA) vs. Vince Spadea (USA)

Gabriel Trifu (ROM)-Glenn Weiner (USA) vs. Robby Ginepri (USA)-Robert Kendrick (USA)

James Blake (USA)-Justin Gimelstob (USA) vs. Mark Merklein (BAH)-Paul Rosner (RSA)


• UH takes on alumni team: Spectators entering the University of Hawai'i's Les Murakami Stadium during baseball season will be subject bags inspections, starting with today's 1 p.m. Alumni game.

Gates open 1 1/2 hours before game time. Umbrellas are allowed, but the stadium staff recommends folding types as opposed to collapsible ones.

The University also announced that the dedication of Les Murakami Stadium will start at 5:55 p.m. Wednesday before the Rainbows' regular season opener against Florida State.

UH president Evan Dobelle, Board of Regents chairman Allan Ikawa and athletic director Hugh Yoshida will give opening remarks, as well as Les Murakami. A Hawaiian blessing and traditional untying of maile lei will follow. Dobelle also will throw out the ceremonial first pitch.

Last year's varsity coaching staff of Carl Furutani, Tom Gushiken, Dave Murakami, Les Nakama and Daryl Masanda will serve as the Alumni team's coaches today.