Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, May 9, 2002

Farrington takes state's top award for high school journalism

 •  This year's other winners

Advertiser Staff

Farrington High School's newspaper, The Governor, won the Overall State Award at the 33rd Hawai'i State High School Journalism Awards banquet yesterday at the Pagoda Hotel.

This is the second win in a row for Farrington High, the fourth in the past five years.

High school journalists from across the state were honored for excellence at the ceremony for their work in editorial writing, feature writing, news writing, photography and illustration, sports writing and layout and design.

Additionally, four students were awarded scholarships to study in the School of Communication at Hawai'i Pacific University. Receiving the scholarships valued at more than $100,000 were Nathan Jugas of Waialua High & Intermediate School, Nanea Ming Ja Kalani of Hana High and Elementary on Maui, Amanda Finn of Kalaheo High School and Rowena Alma Vito of Wai'anae High School.

This year, 35 public and private schools participated in the competition, sponsored by the Hawai'i Publishers Association in conjunction with The Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin.

The Governor's editor in chief is Cherry Cachero. Ellen Manago is the publication's adviser.

• • •

This year's other winners

District winners

  • Best Editorial Writing: Kamehameha Schools, King Kekaulike High School, Konawaena High School, Kailua High School, Pearl City High School, Roosevelt High School, Waialua High & Intermediate School.
  • Best Feature Writing: Baldwin High School, Castle High School, Hilo High School, Kaua'i High School, Punahou School, Radford High School, Roosevelt High School, Waipahu High School.
  • Best News Writing: Baldwin High School, Kailua High School, Kaiser High School, Kealakehe High School, Radford High School, Sacred Hearts Academy, Wai'anae High School.
  • Best Photography or Illustration: Hilo High School, Baldwin High School, Castle High School, Kamehameha Schools, Kaua'i High School, McKinley High School, Mililani High School, Nanakuli High & Intermediate School.
  • Best Sports Writing: Kailua High School, Kamehameha Schools, Lahainaluna High School, Lanakila Baptist, McKinley High School, Mililani High School, Roosevelt High School, Waiakea High School.
  • Best Layout/Design: Baldwin High School, Farrington High School, Hilo High School, Kailua High School, Mililani High School, Sacred Hearts Academy, Wai'anae High School.

State winners

  • Editorials: Roosevelt High School, "Smile, You Just Sped Your Money Away"
  • Features: Punahou School, "Hey Punahou: Wake Up and Get to Class"
  • News: Kaiser High School, "Kaiser Complex Leadership Students Unite"
  • Photography/Illustration: McKinley High School, "Let them eat cake!"
  • Sports: Kamehameha Schools, "Boys Shoot Their Way to Sixth Place"
  • Layout/design: Farrington High School

Most Valuable Staffers

In addition, most valuable staff members were honored for each school paper. They are:

  • Baldwin High School: Jonathan James Eno, editor in chief
  • Castle High School: Dana Watanabe, editorial editor
  • Damien Memorial High School: Lawrence Lau, editor in Chief
  • Farrington High School: Tan Yan Chen, graphics & layout Editor, writer
  • Hawaiian Mission Academy: Joshua Jeong, managing editor
  • Hilo High School: Tiffany Pavao, co-editor
  • Kahuku High School: Kawai Chee, co-editor
  • Kailua High School: Tiare Kruse, editor
  • Kaimuki High School: Liane Uehara, page editor
  • Kaiser High School: Eva Constantaras, editor in chief
  • Kamehameha Schools: Holly Coleman, co-editor in chief
  • Kapa'a High School: Sharon Gibson, staff writer
  • Kaua'i High School: Kim Kido, editor in chief
  • Kealakehe High School: Katie Ogin, editor
  • Konawaena High School: Andrew Ogata, editor in chief
  • Lahainaluna High School: Joruel Espiritu, editor in chief
  • Lanakila Baptist High: Sarah Sakai, news editor
  • Leilehua High School: Desiree' Hockenberry, assistant editor/business manager
  • Lutheran High School: Travis Watanabe, editor in chief
  • McKinley High School: Allen Wong, staffer
  • Mililani High School: Brandon Hanagami, editor in chief
  • Nanakuli High & Intermediate School: Nikita Mendonca, co-editor
  • Pearl City High School: Laurie Au, editor
  • Punahou School: Tiffany Nicole Tanaka, news editor
  • Radford High School: Katherine Hughes, editor in chief
  • Roosevelt High School: Kyle Karioka, editor in chief
  • Sacred Hearts Academy: Celia Downes, editor in chief
  • St. Andrew's Priory: Alisa Furoyama, editor
  • Saint Francis School: Kira Goo, editor
  • Waiakea High School: Joelle Penisten, editor
  • Waialua High & Intermediate School: Nathan Jugas, sports editor
  • Wai'anae High School: Rowena Vito, editor
  • Waipahu High School: Lorinda Dalipe, co-editor in chief