Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, May 24, 2002

Komine pitches Nebraska to Big 12 tourney victory

Advertiser Staff

Two-time All-American Shane Komine allowed four runs on eight hits over 6á innings, and John Grose drove in three runs to lead No. 13 Nebraska to a 12-8 victory over No. 17 Texas Tech in the second round of the Big 12 Conference Baseball Tournament at The Ballpark in Arlington, Texas.

Komine, a senior right-hander from Honolulu, struck out seven and walked two to improve to 7-0 on the season. It was his second start since being sidelined with tendinitis in his right elbow on April 5.

"His pitch count was anywhere from 110 to 120," said Nebraska coach Dave Van Horn "We are trying to get his back to where if he is going to pitch in a regional, we have got to test him and see if he can get back to where he was."

The 1998 Kalani High graduate, who gave up only one run in the first six innings, allowed three more runs before being relieved with runners on second and third and two outs in the seventh. Brian Duesing got the final out with Nebraska leading 9-4.

Texas Tech rallied for four runs in the eighth to trail 11-8, but Nebraska scored a run in its half of the inning and Jeff Blaesing retired the side in order in the ninth for the save.

With his seven strikeouts, Komine increased his school record strikeout total to 482, while improving his career record to 38-7.

Nebraska (41-17), seeded second in the tournament, advances to tomorrow's winner's bracket.

Texas Tech (41-17) will play Kansas State today in an elimination game.

In other games, Kansas State beat Baylor, 6-2; top-seeded Texas ousted Oklahoma State, 8-6 and Oklahoma beat Texas A&M, 9-1.


• Jamboree at Iolani: Former University of Hawai'i Wahine basketball players Nani Cockett, Janka Gabrielova, Kyla Evers, Dainora Puida, Wendy Anae and Melanie Azama will be taking on current high school all-stars in the Ninth Annual Hannemann Jamboree, tomorrow at Iolani School Gym. First tip-off is scheduled for 8:30 a.m.

Confirmed high school players include Megan Ching and Ashley Ruff of the 2002 state and Interscholastic League of Honolulu champion Kamehameha, Latoya Wily and Brina Fritzsche of O'ahu Interscholastic Association champion Kalaheo, Brittney Aiwohi of Sacred Hearts, and Becky Hogue and Rachel Kane of Punahou.

Four high school squads will be coached by Mona Ah Hoy of Kahuku, Konawaena's Bobbie Awa, Daphne Honma of Honoka'a, and 'Aiea's Fran Villarmia-Kahawai.