Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, November 5, 2002

Actors honored

Advertiser staff and news services

LOS ANGELES — Actors Michael Clarke Duncan, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and Rosario Dawson were among the honorees at the 10th annual Diversity Awards.

The Multicultural Motion Picture Association on Sunday gave its Integrity Award to Duncan, an Academy Award nominee for 1999's "The Green Mile."

"It's because of the way he carries himself and tends to keep himself in the limelight playing positive characters," said Jarvee Hutcherson, the group's founder and president. "He's respected by his peers for his sincerity and dedication."

"The Rock," a professional wrestler, received the 2002 Nova Award as the voters' choice for the best rising star of the year. Johnson's movies include "The Scorpion King" and "The Mummy Returns."

Dawson, who has appeared in "Josie and the Pussycats" and "Men in Black II," was honored with the Female Nova Award, given to an up-and-coming actress.