Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, December 8, 2003


Advertiser Staff

Lawyers group honors three

Honolulu lawyer Steven Chow received the Justice Award from the Young Lawyers Division of the Hawai'i State Bar Association at its annual luncheon. Chow was recognized for his contributions to various legal and public organizations.

Mari McCaig was awarded the Liberty Award for her services with the Department of the Prosecuting Attorney, providing counseling and support to victims and witnesses involved in criminal cases.

Second-year University of Hawai'i law student Summer Kupau received the Best Law Student Paper Award for her paper, "Judicial Enforcement of 'Official' Indigenous Languages: A Comparative Analysis of the Maori and Hawaiian Struggles for Cultural Language Rights."

Award applauds aloha spirit

Keikilani Kainoa, director of guest services at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott, has been named the recipient of the fourth annual Naupaka Award, given by The Waikoloa Foundation. She was selected from numerous candidates for her efforts in perpetuating the aloha spirit and preserving the Hawaiian culture through her involve-ment in cultural programs.

Concierge awards given

Michelle Perez, the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa's concierge of 12 years, received the "Most Aloha Spirit" Crystal Award of Excellence at Guest Informant's ninth annual Aloha Spirit Awards ceremony and gala dinner, honoring visitor industry concierges.

Leolani Bailey won for "Greatest Length of Service" for her 13 years at The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui.

Other winners were: Lana'i's Best, Fiona Amby, The Lodge at Koele; Moloka'i's Best, Malia Kino, Sheraton Molokai Lodge & Beach Village; Maui's Best, Michele Chow, The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui; Most Creative Solution, Patricia Amby, Manele Bay Hotel; Most Knowledgeable, James Kimo Pakakiko, Grand Wailea Resort.

UH Golden Scholars named

Twelve people were inducted as University of Hawai'i Golden Scholars. They are: John Bonsey of Kane'ohe; Pamela Carlyle of Kailua; Jeannette Chun of Honolulu; Alma Aiu Cirino of Niu Valley; Thelma Diercks of

Honolulu; Betty Evensen of Kane'ohe; Frederick Fujimoto and Betty Okano, both of Mililani; Charles Schrader of Kane'ohe; Kazuto Tomayasu of 'Aiea; James Yano and Helen Yano, both of Kailua.

All are members of UH's Class of 1953. The Golden Scholars recognition event is held each year to commemorate the 50th anniversary of each UH graduating class.

Kapolei student attends forum

Angelica Zabanal of Kapolei participated in the National Youth Leadership Forum on Law held in October in Washington, D.C. Having demonstrated academic achievement and an interest in law and justice, Zabanal joined more than 350 outstanding high school juniors and seniors from across the nation at the forum.

UH professor wins award

Chennat Gopalakrisnan, professor of natural resources and environmental management at the University of Hawai'i-Manoa, has been selected Fellow of the American Water Resources Association, the leading association of water professionals in the United States. The selection recognizes his record of scholarship in water resources science and his contributions to the water resources community.