Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, July 31, 2003

10 more Hawai'i students receive Merit scholarships

Advertiser Staff

Ten more Hawai'i high school seniors have been named National Merit Scholars, bringing to 33 the total number of state designees for 2003.

They are among nearly 8,000 students nationwide who won either a college-sponsored Merit Scholarship, National Merit $2,500 scholarship or corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship through the National Merit Scholarship Program. In all, the awards are worth $30 million.

The winners are among the top 1 percent of the nation's high school seniors.

The Hawai'i winners announced in the last round of awards are:

Anderson K. Dun, Kamehameha Schools, winner of the Arizona State University Merit Scholarship; Stacy N. Aldinger, Punahou School, American University Merit Scholarship; Jennifer F. Chin, Punahou School, Scripps College Merit Scholarship; Kelly H. Kanayama, Punahou School, Washington University (St. Louis) Merit Scholarship; Valerie M. Kunimoto, St. Francis High School, University of Oklahoma Merit Scholarship.

Also: Shelby Y. Kunishima, Punahou School, University of California, Los Angeles, Merit Scholarship; Laura L. Quek, Hawaii Baptist Academy, Washington University (St. Louis) Merit Scholarship; Charlene C. Shovic, Iolani School, Arizona State University Merit Scholarship; Cary M. Kawamoto, Campbell High School, Harvey Mudd College Merit Scholarship; and Laurel M. Sakai, Seabury Hall, University of Southern California Merit Scholarship.