Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser

Posted on: Tuesday, June 3, 2003

Bulls finish unbeaten in men's soccer

Advertiser Staff

The Honolulu Bulls are the first team to finish a Men's Island Soccer Organization (MISO) season unbeaten and do the MISO double.

Richie Higa got a goal and an assist to Max Anton as the Bulls defeated HPU White, 2-0, Sunday to win the MISO Spring Division I title at Waipi'o Peninsula Soccer Stadium.

It was the third straight final-game appearance for HPU White, which won the Spring 2002 title and was second in the Fall 2002 league.

The Bulls' Brown-bound goalkeeper, David Semenza, made two critical saves and became the second keeper in MISO history to allow fewer than 10 goals in a season. He gave up nine in the regular season. Lanikai's Saunders Vanstiphot set the record of six in Fall 1997.

The Bulls also won the combined divisions championship, beating Lanikai Tuesday, 2-0, in the Robledo Cup Final Friday night at Ala Wai.

The Bulls, featuring a number of Punahou players, are the first team to win two titles in the same season. They will represent Hawai'i this month in the United States Youth Soccer Association Far West Regionals.

Kamikaze came from behind to defeat International in a penalty-kick tiebreaker for the Division II championship. Kamikaze goalkeeper Frankie Williams' save on International's last shot gave Kamikaze a 4-3 victory in the shoot-out.

Final team leaders:

Division I — 1, Bulls. 2, HPU White. 3, Vaiete.

Division II — 1, Kamikaze. 2, International. 3, Bulls Juniors.

Division I all-stars

First team: GK — Josh Fouts, Lanikai. Defenders — Arno Reynolds, Lanikai; Iovo Stefanov, Vaiete; Jacob Espiau, Lanikai; Steven Carlson, Bulls. Midfielders — Jordan Inouye, HPU; Robert Camerrer, Latin Hawai'i; John Hackney, Lanikai; Jakob Fenger, Latin Hawai'i. Forwards — Adolfo Gentil, HPU White; Shaun Callahan, Vaiete.

Second team: GK — David Semenza, Bulls. Defenders — Michael Cooper, Brotherhood; Darren Juliano, HPU White; Nicholas Schreiner, Latin Hawai'i; Aziz Williams, Force. Midfielders — Paul McElroy, Vaiete; Richie Higa, Bulls; Walter Sanchez, HPU White; Pierre Byman, HPU White. Forward — Renato Dos Reis, HPU White.


Rainbow Wahine in sixth: The fourth-ranked University of Hawai'i Rainbow Wahine stood in sixth place out of 18 teams after the first day of the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association 2003 Spring Championships yesterday in Grosse Pointe Shores, Mich.

Hawai'i had a combined 70 points in the A and B divisions. Tufts University led with a low-best score of 29.

Skipper Jennifer Warnock and crew Sarah Reed finished with 39 points after six races in the A division. Skipper Renee DeCurtis and crew Sarah Hitchcock had 31 points after four races in the B division.

The women's competition continues today and ends tomorrow.

The UH women won the national championship in 2001 and finished second last year.


• Asao tops Manoa Cup qualifying: Kellen-Floyd Asao shot a 6-under-par 65 yesterday to lead qualifying for the Manoa Cup at O'ahu Country Club.

Todd Rego and Brandan Kop each shot 68, and Joe Phengsavath, Michael Withrow and Chris Caycayon finished at 69 in qualifying for the state amateur stroke-play championship.

Defending champion Travis Toyama received an automatic berth.

Bradley Shigezawa, 11, became the Cup's youngest qualifier ever after shooting a 78. Shigezawa edged Michelle Wie by three months.

The first round begins at 7 a.m. today, with the second round following at 11.