Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, June 12, 2003

National Merit Scholars named

Advertiser Staff

Twenty-three Hawai'i high school seniors have been named National Merit Scholars for 2003.

They are among nearly 8,000 students nationwide who won either a College-sponsored Merit Scholarship, National Merit $2,500 Scholarship or Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship through the National Merit Scholarship Program. In all, the awards are worth $30 million.

The Hawai'i winners:

• College-sponsored Merit Scholarships: Cori K. Hanagami, Punahou School; Marife A. Molina, Punahou School; Jennifer M. Saito, Iolani School; David P. Shaha, Moanalua High School; Aaron T. Tamura-Sato, Punahou School; Matthew O. Williams, Iolani School; Kristy M. Hirata, Iolani School; Erin A. Jones, Leilehua High School; and Jesse N. Wood, La Pietra — Hawai'i School for Girls. These scholarships provide between $500 and $2,000 annually and may be renewed to cover up to four years of undergraduate study at one of 205 nationwide institutions financing the scholarship.

• National Merit $2,500 Scholarships: Samuel P. Ulin, Seabury Hall; Jennifer L. Fitzgerald, Kamehameha Schools; Blake M. Kurisu, Waiakea High School; David A. Choy, Iolani School; Kyle T. Morgan, Punahou School; Cutter S. Rolles, Punahou School; Currun Singh, Punahou School; Cameron P. Taketa, Hawai'i Baptist Academy; Anne O. Yeung, Iolani School; Jon M. Choate, Seabury Hall; and Matthew D. Jachowski, Maui High School. The students will receive the full amount of the scholarship when they enter the college of their choice next fall.

• Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships: Adam K. Maruyama, Iolani School; Mari L. Oshiro, Iolani School; and Charise L. Guzman, Kaua'i High School. These scholarships are financed by 350 business organizations nationwide. Most are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Others provide a single payment between $2,000 and $5,000.