Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, June 12, 2003


Advertiser Staff

Historical group names officers

The Hawaiian Historical Society announced its slate of officers and board members: Hardy Spoehr, president; DeSoto Brown, vice president; James Waddington, treasurer; and Nancy Morris, secretary.

Elected to four-year terms on the board of trustees were Mike Durant, Walter H. Ikeda, Linda Menton and C. Dudley Pratt Jr. Holdover board members are C. Scott Bradley, Patricia K. Brandt, DeSoto Brown, John Clark, Donne Dawson, Davianna McGregor, Nancy Morris, Roger G. Rose and James Waddington.

Big Isle student wins OSU honor

Julie Ann Luiz of Pepe'ekeo, Hawai'i, was named to the President's Honor Roll at Oklahoma State University for earning a 4.0 grade-point average for the spring semester.

Rehab hospital elects officers

Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific and the Rehabi-litation Foundation announced its new officers and directors. Directors are Roger Finnie, Benjamin Kudo, John Komeiji, Glenn Sexton, Dr. Myron Shirasu and Keith Matsunaga. Elected board members are Eileen Kauhane Lota, George M. Irion, Dr. William Davis and Fred Trotter.

Stuart Ho has been elected president/CEO of the hospital; Jim Wo has been appointed chairman of the board; and Ron Ho will serve as appointed vice chairman.

Moanalua High senior awarded

Moanalua High School senior Jennifer Jung received the $1,000 Sam Walton Community college scholarship, sponsored by Wal-Mart associates, based on her academic performance and involvement in school and community activities.

Jung will attend American University in the fall.

Military children scholarships

The third annual Scholarships for Military Children Program has awarded five local high school seniors with $1,500 scholarships each. They are Katherine Amrich of Pearl City, daughter of Ann and William Amrich; Mark-Anthony Blackmon of Waipahu, son of Bryon Blackmon; Krystle Montalla of Kane'ohe, daughter of Lilia and Crispin Montalla; Rayna Isaki of Honolulu, daughter of Blanche and Arthur Isaki; and Angela de Dios of Kapolei, daughter of Teresita and Bienvenido de Dios.

Senator awards six scholarships

Three high school seniors and three middle school students in District 14 were awarded $500 scholarships from Sen. Donna Mercado Kim for their scholastic and extracurricular achievements.

High school awards: Sarah L. Dysart, 'Aiea; Elisaia S. Mailo, Farrington; Venus M. Bravo, Moanalua. Intermediate awards: Ashley K. Primacio, 'Aiea; Tatiana Ramirez de Arellano, Dole Middle; Chester W. Corpuz, Moana-lua Middle.

Outdoor Circle names officers

The Outdoor Circle announced the election of officers for 2003-04: Lester H. Inouye, president; Abner Undan, first vice president; Paula A. Ress, second vice president; Neal Yokota, third vice president; Pete Dyer, fourth vice president; Marcy Fleming, treasurer; Carol E. Silva, assistant treasurer; and Irma Cunha, secretary. Three elected advisors are Jo Ann Best, Betsy Connors and Alan Y. Fujimori.