Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, March 10, 2004

ILH Boys: Gualdarama, McCleary ILH best

By Leila Wai
Advertiser Staff Writer

Kamehameha senior David Gualdarama "alters your game plan," Iolani coach Ric Miller says.

Advertiser library photo

Iolani senior Dane McCleary was "the anchor, the guy you put back there to organize everything," Miller says.

Deborah Booker • The Honolulu Advertiser

Iolani senior defender Dane McCleary and Kamehameha senior midfielder David Gualdarama were the perfect on-field answer — for each other.

McCleary was named the ILH's Defensive Player of the Year for anchoring a defense that allowed four goals in 14 regular-season games, and Gualdarama was named the Offensive Player of the Year after scoring seven goals and helping the Warriors secure the ILH's second berth in the state tournament.

McCleary was "the anchor, the guy you put back there to organize everything," Iolani coach Ric Miller said. "Having him back there allowed us to play with three defenders and five midfielders."

And playing with five midfielders helped when defending against Gualdarama.

"When you play against him you have to know where he is on the field every second," Miller said. "He alters your game plan, and that's a compliment to him."

Kamehameha players joining Gualdarama on the first team are junior goalkeeper Nick Freitas and junior defender Dustin Taniguchi.

ILH champion Iolani also placed three on the first team, with senior forward Christopher Faulkner and senior midfielder Dyrk Teramae joining McCleary.

Punahou and Pac-Five had two selections each, with junior midfielder Callum Trigg-Smith and senior midfielder Stephen Carlson chosen for the Buffanblu and sophomore forward Jeremy Wittig of Lutheran and senior defender Kody Seminara of ASSETS for Pac-Five.

Hawai'i Baptist sophomore forward Cameron Holm, Damien senior defender Lokahi Bounds and Mid-Pacific junior midfielder Shinji Takahashi complete the first team.

Iolani's Miller was named Coach of the Year after leading the Raiders (10-0-4) to the ILH championship for the first time since 2001.

• • •