Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, March 10, 2004

ILH Girls: Three tapped for top honors

By Leila Wai
Advertiser Staff Writer

Kamehameha senior forward India Soo and Punahou junior midfielder Rachael Lau left it up to the last day of the ILH regular season to decide who would be the league's scoring champion.

Kamehameha's India Soo is a co-Offensive Player of the Year.

Advertiser library photo

St. Francis' Monica Chock is the top defensive player of the Year.

Deborah Booker • The Honolulu Advertiser

Punahou's Rachael Lau shares the offensive award with Soo.

Deborah Booker • The Honolulu Advertiser

That day, Soo scored twice, and Lau had one goal.

For their efforts, the speedy Soo, who ended up with a league-high seven goals, and the crafty Lau, who was second with six, were honored as the ILH co-Offensive Players of the Year.

"(Lau's) the consummate worker," Punahou coach Jorge Barbosa said. "It's unbelievable the work ethic she has."

On Soo, Barbosa said: "As a coach I marvel and say, 'I wish she played for me.' "

St. Francis senior goalkeeper Monica Chock was named the ILH Defensive Player of the Year, for a performance her coach John Scelsa said "kept us competitive in the toughest league in the state."

Joining Chock from St. Francis is senior defender Jennifer Scelsa.

Kamehameha, the league runner-up, had the most selections with three. Defenders Healani Leite-Ah Yo, a senior, and junior Jordan Weeks were selected with Soo.

Junior defender Kelsey Baker joins Lau on the first team for Punahou, after anchoring a defense that did not allow a goal in the regular season for the four-time defending ILH champion.

Iolani also had two selections, with junior midfielder Amy Lawson and sophomore defender Marci Kang honored. Lawson tied for third in the league with five goals.

Pac-Five sophomore midfielder Lauren Ho from Hawai'i Baptist, who also scored five goals, rounds out the first team.

Soo, Leite-Ah You, Scelsa, Baker and Weeks are all repeat performers on the first team.

Barbosa was named the Coach of the Year for the second straight year after leading the Buffanblu (10-0) to their second consecutive undefeated season.

• • •