Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, March 12, 2004

Professor wins science award

Advertiser Staff

University of Hawai'i Emeritus Professor Klaus Wyrtki has been named the recipient of the 2004 Alexander Agassiz Medal of the National Academy of Sciences. Established by a gift from Sir John Murray and presented every three years since 1913 for original contributions in oceanography, the award consists of a medal and a $15,000 prize.

As a chairman of the North Pacific Experiment, Wyrtki built up the Pacific Sea Level Network, which monitors large-scale changes in sea level and currents across the Pacific basin. In addition, he established the Pacific Sea Level Center at the University of Hawai'i for climate research and monitoring, where he showed that the El Niño/Southern Oxcillation phenomenon was predictable months in advance.

He also identified the importance of the western equatorial Pacific warm pool in ENSO. During his career working on issues of ocean physics, Wyrtki studied a variety of ocean circulation problems throughout the Pacific and Indian oceans. The results of his studies initiated major lines of research.

Teen board scholars named

Windward Mall recently announced the recipients of the 2003 Teen Board Scholarships. These Teen Board members earned points throughout their term by participating in community service activities such as children's storytime and craft activities.

Shyla LaVasseur earned first place and a $1,000 scholarship with 78.75 community service hours. In second place with 67.25 community service hours was Tara Nakamura, who earned a $600 scholarship and the $200 Director's Award.

Janine Yamamoto, Mark Takushi Jr. and Tiana Kiyabu were in third through fifth place, respectively.

Two at HPU get scholarships

Hawai'i Pacific University students Sophie Barbara and Troy Groendyke were named recipients of a scholarship from the Hawaii Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association. The award, valued at $500, is given to outstanding students who are committed to a career in the hospitality field.

Barbara is pursuing a bachelor's degree in business administration. She also works in the HPU Tutoring Center, where she teaches Spanish, one of several languages in which she is fluent. Others include English, French and basic Italian and Portuguese.

Groendyke, who is also pursuing a bachelor's in business administration, is a skills trainer with Hawaii Behavioral Health, where he works with clients with autism and serves as president of the HPU Camping Club.

Pianist receives $500 award

Monika Haar, a La Pietra 10th-grader, was awarded a $500 scholarship for additional piano lessons from The Morning Music Club.

Haar was selected by the Kodaly Institute in Hungary for a month-long piano program last summer.

Recently she won first place at the Mozart Festival 2004, organized by the Oahu Arts Center in Mililani.

Fellowship awards given

The Pacific Fellowship Committee has selected the following recipients for awards/grants for the year 2003-2004: Katalina McGlone, $4,000; Christine Su, $3,000; Masami Tsujita, $4,000; and Michelle Taupau, $3,000.

For participation in a conference or seminar: Anna Naupa, an undisclosed amount of money; Robin Tatu, $1,000.

Ruth E. Black Scholarship Awardees ($1,000 awards): Shelley Awaya, Lisa Kuhiman, Chandra Morikawa; Christina Ortiz and Tammy Young.

Beardsmore Anderson Art Scholarship 2003: Patricia Quiason, $1,000.

Teacher on Kaua'i honored

Duke's Kauai has chosen Lynda Liesse, a third-grade teacher at Island School, as its Educator of the Quarter for the first quarter of 2004.

Liesse is committed to engaging, challenging and empowering her students.

She plays the piano at school functions, plans and leads off-island learning adventures for her students, paints in watercolors and shows her work in galleries.