Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, March 22, 2004


Advertiser Staff

Ag board gets new member

Jaw-Kai Wang has been appointed to a three-year term on the Board of Agriculture and Natural Resources. Wang is a faculty member at the University of Hawai'i.

Operating under a congressional charter designating the National Academy of Sciences as an independent adviser to the nation, the Board of Agriculture and Natural Resources of the National Academies provides expert scientific advice on global problems and issues facing agriculture, food and environmental systems.

Chinese fund winners named

The University of Hawai'i at Manoa has announced the latest awards presented to graduate students and faculty members from the Chung Fong & Grace Ning Fund for Chinese Studies.

The fund benefits graduate students and faculty members with China-focused academic projects by providing support for conference or research travel, purchase of books, materials or supplies, and hiring student assistance.

The winners are: Ned Davis, history; Qitao Guo, history; Giovanni Vitiello, East Asian languages and literature; Yoshihisa Amae, political science; Chan Lee, philosophy; Jinzhao Li, American studies; and Konrad Ng, political science.

Palolo home officers picked

Palolo Chinese Home has installed a new slate of officers and directors to guide it over the coming year. They are:

  • Wesley Fong, chairman and president, retired attorney and lecturer in business law at the University of Hawai'i and Hawaii Pacific University. He is a former state supervising deputy attorney, a Vietnam veteran and colonel in the U.S. Army, past chair of the Hawaii Arthritis Foundation and past president of the Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Hawaii Chinese Civic Association.
  • 2004 officers include: Clinton Ching, first vice president; Anthony Ching, second vice president; Roger Liu, secretary; Eric Watanabe, treasurer; George Lum, past chairman and president; Leigh-Wai Doo, CEO.
  • 2004 directors include: Gordon Au, director at large; Dr. Patricia Blanchette, Leigh-Wai Doo, Frances Goo, Gwen Ouye-Nakama, Dr. Lawrence Tseu and Blossom Tyau.

Retiring officers include: Jonathon Won, past first vice president; directors, Vicky Cayetano and Satoru Izutsu.

Award honors academy leader

The United States Junior Chamber has given 61st Hawaii Jaycee State President Jon Nishihara the distinguished Dennis Hamilton Memorial Award.

He is recognized for being the creator and manager of the Leadership Training Academy. The academy has arranged for top-rated speakers to discuss the tools of leadership.

The Hawai'i Jaycees have also received the Blue Chip award in recognition of its excellent membership growth in 2003.

Minority award goes to two here

Two Hawai'i students were among those honored recently as Most Promising Minority Students by the American Advertising Federation.

They are Vanessa Katz of Honolulu, a Hawai'i Pacific University student; and Tiffany Mitsui of Honolulu, a Syracuse University student.

Students make deans' lists

Eric Petran of Kula, Maui, was among those named to the dean's list at Valparaiso University late last year.

He is a senior electrical engineering major and the son of Walter and Jolenta Petran. He attended Seabury Hall.

Northeastern University nursing student Kerri Asamoto of Waipahu was named to the dean's list late last year.

Asamoto is also an honors student, a program that offers high-caliber students the chance to further hone their studies and interests.