Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser

Posted on: Saturday, July 2, 2005


Advertiser Staff

Macy's West awards $225,000

Macy's West has given checks totaling $225,000 to four Hawai'i charities as part of its 2004-05 Thanks For Sharing community giving campaign. The checks were presented to Aloha United Way, Hawai'i Foodbank, Boys and Girls Clubs, and the American Heart Association.

Macy's West raised more than $1 million during its campaign. Macy's Hawaii accounted for nine of the top 10 stores in the region.

12 young artists named finalists

Twelve budding artists from Hawai'i are finalists in Coca-Cola's "Living in Harmony" art competition. All entries will be displayed on the front of Coca-Cola vending machines in the artists' communities. The first-place winner is Jade Shimabu-kuro of Farrington High School. She receives a $5,000 U.S. Savings Bond.

Other finalists are: Benjamin Watterson of Baldwin High and Valerie Verceluz, also of Baldwin.

Honorable-mention recipients are: Wylie Duarosan, Marie Janiszewski, Lea Ka'awaloa, Ashley Kaneko, Mei Yan Liu, Travis Morrin, Siera Mundon, Arlyn Ramos and Taryn Takahashi.

Air Force honors AIG Hawai'i

The 624th Regional Support Group of the Air Force Reserve Command has named AIG Hawai'i Insurance Co. its civilian employer of the year in the large- businesses division. The award is given to organizations that display outstanding support for their employee reservists and help ease difficulties for workers who are called to active duty.

Museum group wins top awards

The Arizona Memorial Museum Association has won two top awards and three honorable mentions at the annual Association of Partners for Public Lands 2005 Media and Partnership Awards.

The museum asociation won the top award for a new audio tour that allows visitors to independently explore the USS Arizona Visitor Center, shoreside exhibits and museum via a headset, mp3 player and audio guide. Visitors hear from Pearl Harbor survivors and Japanese pilots who took part in the attack.