Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, August 2, 2006

11 Po'okela awards for Diamond Head's 'La Cage'

By Wayne Harada
Advertiser Entertainment Writer

Randl Ask, as Albin/ZaZa, stole the show in Diamond Head Theatre's "La Cage aux Folles."

Advertiser library photo

spacer spacer

Diamond Head Theatre's "La Cage aux Folles," a musical comedy about a gay couple complete with cross-dressing, garnered 11 Po'okela Awards at the theater community's gala to salute "honorees" instead of "winners" Monday night at the Ko'olau Ballrooms in Kane'ohe.

But "La Cage" was not among the four musicals honored in the overall musical category. There, awards went to "Cats," "The Full Monty," "Pageant" and "South Pacific."

"The Foreigner," a Manoa Valley Theatre comedy, earned eight awards, including overall play. Other overall play winners are "The Gin Game," "The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?" "M. Butterfly" and "Joe Turner's Come and Gone."

After a year's hiatus, the Hawai'i State Theatre Council restructured its salute to actors and technicians by eliminating pre-show nominees. Now all recognized actors and productions are called honorees, with as many as six in certain categories.

DHT gained 27 nods, with MVT a whisker behind with 26.


  • Overall play: "The Gin Game," Hawai'i Pacific University; "The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?" The Actors' Group; "The Foreigner," Manoa Valley Theatre; "M. Butterfly," MVT; "Joe Turner's Come and Gone," TAG.

  • Overall musical: "Cats," Army Community Theatre; "The Full Monty," Diamond Head Theatre; "Pageant," MVT; "South Pacific," Paliku Theatre.

  • Leading male in a play: Dwight Martin, "M. Butterfly," MVT; Don Pomes, "The Gin Game," HPU; David Starr, "The Foreigner," MVT.

  • Featured male in a play: Buck Ashford, "Flaming Idiots," MVT; Derrick Brown, "Joe Turner's Come and Gone," TAG; Curtis Duncan, "Joe Turner's Come and Gone," TAG; Erik J. Krummel, "The Foreigner," MVT; Colin Miyamoto, "M. Butterfly," MVT; Thomas C. Smith, "The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?" TAG.

  • Leading female in a play: Betty Burdick, "Boston Marriage," TAG; Victoria Gail-White, "The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?" TAG; Joyce Maltby, "The Gin Game," HPU; Susan Park, "Betrayed," TAG.

  • Featured female in a play: Dusty Behner, "Boston Marriage," TAG; Regina Ewing, "The Foreigner," MVT; Jo Pruden, "Enchanted April," DHT; Genny Wilson, "The Foreigner," MVT.

  • Leading male in a musical: Randl Ask, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Laurence Paxton, "A Little Night Music," MVT; Laurence Paxton, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Matthew Pennaz, "The Full Monty," DHT; Steve Wagenseller, "South Pacific," Paliku.

  • Featured male in a musical: Richard Aadland, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; R. Andrew Doan, "The Full Monty," DHT; Kyle Malis, "Aladdin Jr.," DHT; Wyoming Rossett, "South Pacific," Paliku; Brent Yoshikami, "A Little Night Music," MVT; Keoki Kerr, "Pageant," MVT.

  • Featured female in a musical: Lisa Konove, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood," DHT; Shari Lynn, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Sonya Mendez, "South Pacific," Paliku; Zenia Zambrano Moura, "Into the Woods," DHT.

  • Leading female in a musical: Elizabeth Ananij Harrison, "Damn Yankees," ACT; Stefanie Smart, "A Little Night Magic," MVT; Shari Lynn, "Aloha Rosie's," HPU.

  • Ensemble: "Flaming Idiots," MVT; "Enchanted April," DHT; "Cats," ACT.

  • Costume design: Bill Doherty, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Bill Doherty, Peggy Krock, Randl Ask, Lorena Jones, "Pageant," MVT; Evette Tanoue, "Charlie Brown," Paliku; Carlynn Wolfe, Rose Wolfe, "Joe Turner's Come and Gone," TAG; Karen G. Wolfe, "Aladdin Jr.," DHT.

  • Hair, wig, makeup design: Jess Aki, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Bryan Furer, "Cats"; Greg Howell, "M. Butterfly," MVT; Greg Howell, "Pageant, " MVT.

  • Lighting design: Stephen Clear, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Jack Hufstetler, Jon Vasquez, John-Paul Tai, "Charlotte's Web," Paliku; Dawn Oshima, "Enchanted April," DHT; Derron Peterson, "Cats," ACT.

  • Set design: Karen Archibald, "The Foreigner," MVT; James Davenport, "M Butterfly," MVT; Andrew Doan, "The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?" TAG; Dennis Hassan, "Cats," ACT; Johanna Morriss, "Enchanted April," DHT.

  • Sound design: Bobby Hamnett, "The Foreigner," MVT; Mikel J. Humerickhouse, "Enchanted April," DHT; Mikel J. Humerickhouse, "The Full Monty," DHT; Mikel J. Humerickhouse, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Jason Taglianetti, "M. Butterfly".

  • Choreographer: Grace Bell Humerickhouse, "Cats," ACT; Deanna Luster, "Damn Yankees," ACT; Andrew Sakaguchi, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT.

  • Musical director: Clarke Bright, "South Pacific," Paliku; Lina Jeong Doo, "A Little Night Music," MVT; Lorna Mount, "Cats," ACT; Alethea Train, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT.

  • Director of a musical: Randl Ask, "Pageant," MVT; Ron Bright, "South Pacific," Paliku; John Rampage, "La Cage aux Folles," DHT; Vanita Rae Smith, "Cats," ACT.

  • Director of a play: Randl Ask, "Enchanted April," DHT; Mitchell Milan, "The Gin Game," HPU; Scott Rogers, "Flaming Idiots," MVT; Jerry Tracy, "The Foreigner," MVT.

  • Nonresident guest artist: Timothy Albrecht, director-choreographer, "The Full Monty," DHT; Greg Zane, choreographer, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood," DHT.

  • Pierre Bowman award: John Rampage, DHT.

  • Adjudicators' special awards: Lisa Matsumoto and Roslyn Catracchia, for original book and music of "The Adventures of Gary and Harry: A Tale of Two Turtles," 'Ohi'a Productions; Kathe James, for "Cats" costumes at ACT; Hawaii Shakespeare Festival, for creative vision of the Bard's works.

    Reach Wayne Harada at wharada@honoluluadvertiser.com.