Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, December 20, 2006

Kreutz in 6th Pro Bowl

Advertiser Staff

Olin Kreutz

spacer spacer

Mat McBriar

spacer spacer

Two players with Hawai'i ties former Saint Louis School lineman Olin Kreutz and former University of Hawai'i punter Mat McBriar were named to the Pro Bowl teams yesterday.

It was the first Pro Bowl selection for McBriar, a free-agent pickup for the Dallas Cowboys.

McBriar was an all-Western Athletic Conference punter in 2002.

"This is an honor that I wasn't really expecting," McBriar said on the Cowboys Web site. "I'm happy for all of the guys who made it and for the success that our team has had thus far this year. I am excited about going back to Hawai'i."

McBriar leads the NFL in punting with a 48.3-yard average, which includes one punt of 75 yards.

Kreutz, a Chicago Bears center who played for the University of Washington, was named to his sixth Pro Bowl.

Both will play for the National Football Conference All-Stars that will face the American Football Conference All-Stars in the 2007 Pro Bowl on Feb. 10 at 3 p.m. at Aloha Stadium.

The AFC and NFC squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent each conference. The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

There were 69.8 million votes cast on NFL.com and via the Sprint and Nextel wireless service. Included in the tally was a record 2.35 million mobile votes via Sprint and Nextel wireless 400,000 more mobile votes cast than last year.

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning received 1,183,468 votes to lead in fan balloting. San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (1,111,684 votes) ranked second and New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (907,656) third.

The Bears placed a conference-high seven players on the NFC squad.

Thirteen NFC players will participate in their first Pro Bowl, including Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, who has won six of his first eight career starts in guiding the team to a playoff berth.

The Chargers had a league-high nine players on the AFC squad the most in franchise history.

Nine players on the AFC roster are first-time All-Stars, including Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers, in his first year as a starter, and three of his San Diego teammates. The Chargers own the conference's best record at 12-2.

For ticket information, go to www.nfl.com.

• • •