Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, February 28, 2006

Pane'e led charge for Knights

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Castle coach Jon Berinobis and ace Michal Pane'e helped the Knights end Kailua's three-year run as OIA East champion.

DEBORAH BOOKER | Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

With three-time O'ahu Interscholastic Association Red Conference Eastern Division Player of the Year Courtney Kessell finally graduated from Kailua, the East title was up for grabs this season.

And Castle grabbed it, thanks in large part to senior pitcher Michal Pane'e. She started all of the Knights' regular-season games, winning 11 of 12, and led Castle to the division crown.

For her efforts, she was named East Player of the Year after a vote of league coaches.

Pane'e established herself and the Knights as the real deal in the first round, when she tossed a three-hitter to defeat Kailua, 1-0. It was Castle's first OIA victory over the Surfriders since 2002. She later did not allow a hit in six shutout innings to help the Knights defeat Kaiser, 6-0, and pitched a one-hitter to defeat Moanalua, 1-0.

Including the playoffs, Pane'e finished with an 11-3 record with a 1.40 earned run average and struck out 57. She is joined on the OIA East All-Star first team by teammates Kelly Nishitomi at second base and Cheynah Farley in the outfield.

Kailua and Moanalua also placed three players each on the first team. Kailua was represented by third baseman Shyenne Hussey, catcher Brittany Tokunaga and designated player Januari Santiago.

Moanalua placed first baseman Brittni Ronolo, shortstop Traci Yoshikawa and outfielder Glennis Rodrigues.

Kaiser outfielder Nanea Chan, Kaimuki pitcher Genesis Fruean and Roosevelt utility player Makana Frank round out the first team.

Ronolo, Hussey and Chan are repeat selections.

Castle's Jon Berinobis was named Coach of the Year for helping the Knights break Kailua's three-year stranglehold on the Eastern Division.

• • •

First Team
Pos. Name School
1B Brittni Ronolo Moanalua
2B Kelly Nishitomi Castle
3B Shyenne Hussey Kailua
SS Traci Yoshikawa Moanalua
OF Nanea Chan Kaiser
OF Cheynah Farley Castle
OF Glennis Rodrigues Moanalua
C Brittany Tokunaga Kailua
P Genesis Fruean Kaimuki
P Michal Pane'e Castle
U Makana Frank Roosevelt
DP Januari Santiago Kailua

Player of the Year: Michal Pane'e, Castle

Coach of the Year:Jon Berinobis, Castle

Second Team
Pos. Name School
1B Jenna Kon Castle
2B Alisha Vegas Kailua
3B Jamie Ronolo Moanalua
SS Sydney Kaneshiro Kailua
OF Kalei Lebanon Castle
OF Shauna Naki Castle
OF Daneen Williams Kailua
C Shelby Nakachi Moanalua
P Krista Dumandan Kailua
P Sarah Robinson Moanalua

Honorable Mention
Castle: Ryanne Dacosin, Tiffany Farias, Kehau Fung, Chloe Su'a. Kahuku: Marissa Keao, Ageisha Lightsy, Kelli Saniatan, Tatianna Vaimoui. Kailua: Shayla Kamaka, Jarrish Mauhili-Kaneakua, Ashley Hopfe. Kaimuki: Amanda Amond, Nina Atiga, Malu Bautista, Louise Fiamate, Mindy Hirokawa, Richelle Hu, Kanoe Nicola, Zeysha Wells. Kaiser: Kerry Austin, Alex Tuohy. Moanalua: Deena Dela Cruz, Sissy Hillsberry, Le'a Tamura, Noelle Young.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.