Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, February 28, 2006

Manuma found home at Campbell

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Campbell's Anita Manuma, who played for three schools in four years, batted .455 with 12 RBIs and had a 1.18 ERA.

DEBORAH BOOKER | Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer


spacer spacer

No matter how many times Anita Manuma changed teams and jerseys the past four seasons, she was the same powerful and graceful force on the field.

Manuma who played for St Francis as a freshman, Kapolei as a sophomore and St. Francis again last season transferred to Campbell for her senior year and proceeded to lead the Sabers to a state tournament berth.

She also was named the O'ahu Interscholastic Association's Red Conference Western Division Player of the Year after a vote of league coaches. Manuma, primarily a pitcher and shortstop, batted .455 with five doubles, two triples, two home runs, 12 runs batted in and six stolen bases.

As a pitcher, she had a 1.18 earned run average and struck out 24 batters against only five walks. Manuma pitched a three-hitter to defeat Leilehua, 4-1, then tossed a complete game allowing only two runs and had a double and run batted in to defeat Kapolei, 3-2.

She is joined on the OIA Red West's all-star first team by teammate Sam Palipti, who was selected as a designated player.

Division runner-up Pearl City led the way with five players named to the first team: first baseman Lauren Fujisaki, second baseman Kanani Numata, outfielder Moki Opunui, pitcher Corrie Nishikida and utility player Marina Gusman-Brown.

Kapolei was next with three representatives: outfielders Sheryl Robinol and Ka'ili Smith and pitcher Tajia Acierto. Mililani placed two on the first team third baseman Dana Lee and catcher Skye Virtudes and Nanakuli had one, shortstop Vernadine Vickers.

Mililani's Rose Antonio was named Coach of the Year in her first year at the helm, taking over for longtime coach Mike Okimoto. Her Trojans won the West with an 11-1 record.

• • •

First Team

Pos. Name School
1B Lauren Fujisaki Pearl City
2B Kanani Numata Pearl City
3B Dana Lee Mililani
SS Vernadine Vickers Nanakuli
OF Moki Opunui Pearl City
OF Sheryl Robinol Kapolei
OF Kaili Smith Kapolei
C Skye Virtudes Mililani
P Tajia Acierto Kapolei
P Corrie Nishikida Pearl City
P Anita Manuma Campbell
U Marina Gusman-Brown Pearl City
DH Sam Palipti Campbell

Player of the Year: Anita Manuma, Campbell

Coach of the Year: Rose Antonio, Mililani

Second Team
Pos. Name School
1B Breanna Patton Campbell
2B Casey Sugihara Mililani
3B Sam Palipti Campbell
SS Kimberley Goo Mililani
OF Marina Gusman-Brown Pearl City
OF Tehani Ka'aihue Kapolei
OF Chasity Senas Mililani
C Kai Clark Campbell
P Makani Duhaylonsod Mililani
P Anita Manuma Campbell
U Corrie Nishikida Pearl City
DH Kishti Kamaka Mililani

Honorable Mention
Campbell: Vai Confer, Chanel Bali-Gaui, Loreen Egdamin, Brittney Garcia, Leinna Kalua, Shelei Murray-Thornton, Breanne Patton, Anu Yamaguchi. Kapolei: Ciara Acierto, Ashlynn Ashby, Brittany Brackenridge, Alysha Holt, Champagne Paris, Chanti Perry, Pam Ribac. Leilehua: Nikki Ige, Jamie Kim, Ciara Paracuelles, Ashley Phillips, Alex Smith, Tiana Vierra. Mililani: Tierra Cuba, Celina Garces, Amber Kamaka. Nanakuli: Kyra Ako-Pall, Aliana Bator-Kaaukai, Frances Busano, Jamie Deguzman, Sierra Felisi, Ambree Hauhio, Dezra Hoapili, Shana Kealoha, Sasha Montez, Dianne Siolo. Pearl City: Sanoe Aina, Noelle Hirahara, Kiana Mendiola, Nicole Oki, Allycia Watanabe.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.