Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, June 2, 2006

Seven tennis teams win sectionals

 •  Injured Maui pro hopes to get air time in 2007

Advertiser Staff

Seven senior teams won titles last weekend at the USTA League Chrysler Hawai'i Section Tennis Championship on Kaua'i.

The winners, along with several other Hawai'i teams, qualified for the national championships this fall.

The women's winners were Senior Power, Hilo (3.0), captain Leonora Kunimoto; Maui Magic, Kahului (3.5), captain Jane Sakakihara; Kanalima, Honolulu (4.0), captain Betty Clark and Mood Swings, Kailua, Kona (4.5), captain Wendy Pritikin.

The men's winners were Ohana, Honolulu (3.0), captain Allen Sakamoto; Hana Hou, Honolulu (3.5), captain Clyde Miyasaki and KRC Netman, Kailua, captain Paul Tomar.