Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Miscues in ILH all-star softball list

Advertiser Staff

An incorrect version of the Interscholastic League of Honolulu softball all-stars list was published in yesterday's editions.

Kamehameha's Hauoli Gardner was named to the all-star first team as a designated player, and Kamehameha outfielder Jasmine Knight and Punahou pitcher Talia Autele were named to the second team.

All three were listed in different categories yesterday.

Iolani's Kaz Masutani received honorable mention; her name was omitted from the original list. Kahale Ka'anoi attends St. Francis School; she was listed under a different school. Also, Mid-Pacific's Meghan Laughlin and Pac-Five's Keline Yoshimura had their names misspelled.

Here is the corrected version of the entire list:


1B Shannon Lum St. Francis

2B Charina Sumner Kamehameha

3B Dara Pagaduan Kamehameha

SS Kaui Tom Kamehameha

OF Alyssa Bergado Kamehameha

OF Tawni Glushenko St. Francis

OF Shalesse Javillo Kamehameha

C Kai Masutani Iolani

C Ashley Smith St. Francis

P Brittney Akana St. Francis

P Noe Esperas Kamehameha

P Jessica Ghazali Pac-Five

U Chelsey Keola Iolani

DP Allison Chu Iolani

DP Hauoli Gardner Kamehameha

Player of the Year: Noe Esperas, Kamehameha

Coach of the Year: Mark Glushenko, St. Francis


1B Brittney Clark Kamehameha

2B Kylie Ahlo Iolani

3B Sasha Koki St. Francis

SS Cristen Aona Punahou

OF Jovan Hire St. Francis

OF Jasmine Knight Kamehameha

OF Tara-Lyn Odo Iolani

OF Stacy Sueda Pac-Five

C Cara Hasegawa Pac-Five

P Talia Autele Punahou

P Joslyn Eugenio Sacred Hearts

P Ariel Silva Maryknoll

U Heather Uekawa Maryknoll


Iolani: Kaz Masutani, Lauren Oyadomari, Jana Tokuhama. Kamehameha: Kahea Alohikea, Jaynal Ioane. Maryknoll: Tracy Berjokin, Leah Enos, Brianne Preza Haynes, Kimi Okaneku, Shay Shibata, Joni Shimomura, Hillary Uekawa. Mid-Pacific: Asia Botelho, Jennifer Hamamoto, Meghan Laughlin, Sheri Shobu. Pac-Five: Resene Choy, Brennan Clark, Courtney Gibo, Leann Lariosa, Chante Tesoro, Keline Yoshimura. Punahou: Kelii Kobayashi, Kira Kubota, Erin Nagata, Sara Sameshima. Sacred Hearts: Kiane Dalit, Chelsea Kamai, Samantha Saito. St. Francis: Kahale Ka'anoi, Alisha Sakamoto, Jandee Taira, Kelcie Watson.



The sixth annual Punahou Wahine Spring Classic tips off today with six games at Hemmeter Fieldhouse.

Games run through Saturday in a round-robin "challenge" format pitting teams from the O'ahu Interscholastic Association and Big Island Interscholastic Federation against opponents from the Interscholastic League of Honolulu.

The 12-team field includes defending state champions Punahou (Division I) and Kamehameha-Hawai'i (DII) and perennial powerhouses Iolani, Kalaheo and Roosevelt.



Gregory Van Cantfort has been appointed as athletic director at Kalani. He served as the Falcons' girls soccer coach for nine years and also guided the Kalani boys to their first state tournament appearance in 2000.

Van Cantfort replaces Gordon Miyashiro, who retired.

Kalani also is looking for a varsity football coach with the resignation of Greg Taguchi, who coached from 1994 to '98 and 2003 to '05.

Applicants should send a resume to: Gregory S. Van Cantfort, c/o Kalani High School, 4680 Kalaniana'ole Highway, Honolulu, Hawai'i 96821 or Gregory_Van-Cantfort@notes.k12.hi.us

All resumes must be postmarked by March 13.