Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, March 3, 2006

Big waves never came for Eddie Aikau meet

 •  Getting back to basics helps fill need for speed

Advertiser Staff

Eddie won't go.

At least not this big-wave season.

The holding period for the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational ended Tuesday, meaning there will be no contest this season.

The holding period for the contest started Dec. 2. It can only take place on a day at Waimea Bay when waves are at least 20 feet high (by traditional measurements) and consistent.

"Although December actually set a record high for the number of days of surf averaging 12 feet, it never got to the point where we could actually run the event," contest director George Downing said. "This winter, we just didn't get the drive of the wind fetch areas that have the potential of giving us what we needed for the 'Eddie' to run."

Because of its stringent standards, the "Eddie" has been completed just seven times since its creation in 1984. The last time it was completed was December 2004, when Kaua'i's Bruce Irons won it.

The contest was created to honor Waimea Bay lifeguard and big-wave surfer Eddie Aikau, who was lost at sea during an attempt to save the voyaging canoe Hokule'a in 1978.

Each year, 24 surfers are invited to compete in the contest.


The 30th annual Buffalo's Big Board Surfing Classic will run both this weekend (tomorrow and Sunday) and next weekend (March 10 to 12) at Makaha Beach.

The unique contest features various forms of wave-riding, including longboard surfing, tandem surfing, canoe surfing, paipo boarding, bodyboarding, and beachboy-style paddle surfing.

Around 200 surfers from around the world are expected to compete.

The contest was created by, and is still run by, longtime Makaha lifeguard and surfer Buffalo Keaulana.


The T&C Women's Pipeline Pro will take place on the best three days between today and March 14 at the famous Banzai Pipeline.

The contest features three divisions shortboard surfing, longboard surfing and bodyboarding. It is the only contest at Pipeline with a division for women's surfing.

Defending champions Alana Blanchard (shortboard surfing), Kim Hamrock (longboard surfing) and Kira Llewellyn (bodyboarding) are all expected to compete.


Dustin Cuizon of 'Ewa Beach and Bonga Perkins of Hale'iwa won their respective divisions at the Macy's E-Series contest last weekend.

The event was completed in 3- to 5-foot waves at Kewalo Basin. Cuizon won the shortboard division; Perkins took the longboard division.

Cuizon won it by catching a high-scoring wave in the final seconds of the heat. It was his second consecutive win in the series.

Torrey Meister placed second, followed by Jason Magallanes and Lance Gruver.

Perkins edged Kai Sallas in the longboard final. Kekoa Uemura was third and Genki Kino fourth.

The series is designed to give Hawai'i's up-and-coming surfers a chance to compete without having to travel around the world.