Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, March 8, 2006

Woodward, Love and Terry dominated

Pac-Five senior forward Reid Woodward, left, led the ILH with 16 goals and Punahou junior forward Nick Love scored 14.

ANDREW SHIMABUKU | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

Matt Terry

spacer spacer

Bob Clague

spacer spacer

Fittingly, two of the top goal-scoring forwards in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu Pac-Five senior Reid Woodward (16 goals) and Punahou junior Nick Love (14) were selected as the co-Offensive Players of the Year.

"Nick improved and matured as the season went on," Punahou coach Bob Clague said. "He was our man. He scored some critical goals for us."

Woodward "worried me to death," Clague said. "He's mobile, quick, and could score with either foot. He was a player we had to be aware of."

Saint Louis goalkeeper Matt Terry was named the ILH Defensive Player of the Year.

"In the first 10 minutes, he must have had five point-blank saves (against us)," Clague said. "Hands down he was the top goalkeeper in the ILH."

Kimo Komomua, a sophomore from Kamehameha who scored 11 goals, joined Woodward and Love as the first-team forwards.

First-team midfielders were Iolani senior Dylan Langley, Kamehameha junior Kekoa Osorio and Mid-Pacific senior Justin Akai, who scored 14 goals.

Defenders named to the first team were Iolani junior Vince Cachero, Punahou junior Will Jensen, Iolani sophomore Hiroshi Metzker and Punahou sophomore Christopher Walker.

Osorio, Akai, Woodward and Terry are repeat first-team selections.

Clague was named the Coach of the Year after Punahou won its first ILH title since 2003.



F Kimo Komomua Kamehameha So.

F Reid Woodward Pac-Five Sr.

F Nick Love Punahou Jr.

MF Dylan Langley Iolani Sr.

MF Kekoa Osorio Kamehameha Jr.

MF Justin Akai Mid-Pacific Sr.

D Vince Cachero Iolani Jr.

D Will Jensen Punahou Jr.

D Hiroshi Metzker Iolani So.

D Christopher Walker Punahou So.

GK Matthew Terry Saint Louis Sr.

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Reid Woodward, Pac-Five and Nick Love, Punahou

Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Terry, Saint Louis

Coach of the Year: Bob Clague, Punahou



F Deryck Lim Punahou Jr.

F Raymond Machi Iolani Sr.

F Morgan Langley Iolani Jr.

MF James Terry Saint Louis Sr.

MF Lee Anderson Iolani Sr.

MF Zane Dydasco Kamehameha So.

MF Isaiah Guth Kamehameha Sr.

D Benson Carlisle Mid-Pacific Sr.

D Alex Gino Pac-Five Sr.

D Calen Wong Kamehameha Sr.

GK Stephen Fung Iolani Sr.


Damien: Jaimie Benny, MF, Sr. Hawai'i Baptist: Marc Hope, F, Fr. Kamehameha: Logan Sauer, F, Sr.; Kapena Kalehuawehe-Gomes, D, So. Mid-Pacific: David Young, F, Sr. Pac-Five: Ian Sutherland, GK, Fr.; Eben Hellekson, GK, Jr. Punahou: Alexander Ho, D, Jr.; Troy Yasuda, MF, Jr.