Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Radford’s Satterwhite could be counted on

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Radford junior Gary Satterwhite scored at least 10 points in all 10 OIA Western Division regular-season games this season.

ANDREW SHIMABUKU | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer


spacer spacer

Radford junior Gary Satterwhite was "Mr. Consistency" for the Rams this season, scoring at least 10 points in all 10 regular-season games.

And in an O'ahu Interscholastic Association Western Division that was treacherous from night to night, that consistency made him stand out above the rest.

The sharp-shooting Satterwhite, a 6-foot-3 forward, was named the West's Player of the Year after a vote of division coaches. He averaged 17 points per game in helping Radford finish 7-3 and third in the final regular-season standings.

Satterwhite is joined on the West's all-star first team by Mililani guard Ken Moses, Leilehua forward Clayton Laurel and Campbell guards Ryan Hayes and Tristan Sealy.

Moses, a 5-10 senior, was a clutch player in helping the Trojans win the West with a 10-0 record. He scored 23 points in a 55-51 victory over Kapolei, 13 of his 15 points in the fourth period of Mililani's 59-55 victory over Pearl City and 23 points — including a free throw with four seconds remaining — in the Trojans' 55-54 win over Waipahu in the regular-season finale.

Laurel, a 6-2 senior, had a big post presence in helping the Mules finish fourth with a 7-3 record. He scored 19 points in a 54-44 victory over Wai'anae and 17 in a 44-32 win over 'Aiea.

Hayes, a 5-8 senior guard, had several late-game heroics to help the Sabers finish 9-1 and in second place. He scored 18 of his 22 points in the fourth period of a 50-46 victory over Kapolei in the season's final week. Sealy, a 6-3 junior, was a force in Campbell's dynamic transition game.

Mililani's Hiram Akina was named Coach of the Year in his first season at the helm.

• • •

First Team
Pos. Player School
G Ryan Hayes Campbell
G Ken Moses Mililani
G Tristan Sealy Campbell
F Clayton Laurel Leilehua
F Gary Satterwhite Radford

Player of the Year: Gary Satterwhite, Radford

Coach of the Year: Hiram Akina, Mililani

Second Team
Pos. Player School
G A.J. Clark Mililani
G Travis Cruz Pearl City
G Rollie Salvacion Mililani
F Junior Faliuga Wai‘anae
F Cameron Moody Kapolei

Honorable Mention
'Aiea: Kali Kuia, Lofa Li‘ili‘i, Jerry Miller.
Campbell: Sean Kelly, Matthew Samante.
Kapolei: Po‘okela Ahmad, Jerome Figueroa, Keoki Lapina, Brad Padayao.
Leilehua: Josh Brooks, Art Laurel, Kennedy Orteza, Mike Tryon.
Mililani: Brandon Dela Cruz, Donovan Olmos, David Otte.
Nanakuli: Anson Amaral, Issas Iuta, Kalai Kahelekai, Levi Luavasa, Michael Patronis.
Pearl City: Andrew Blue, Kawika Borden, Karlo Rarangol.
Radford: Matt Alofaituli, Joe Brundidge, Garriet Canteen, Michael Goodman, Justin Lord.
Waialua: Caleb Fore, Robert Kroeger, Bernard Menor, Marc Nacapuy, Edwin Rubio.
Wai'anae: Nathaniel Kahala, Jordan Manuel.
Waipahu: Robert Donley, Jamar Pacupac, Jomar Pedro, Rowel Rivera.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.