Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Kuehu latest Player of Year for Punahou

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Sophomore post player Shawna-Lei Kuehu showed an all-around game as witnessed by her double-doubles (points-rebounds) in 10 of Punahou's 11 league games.

Advertiser Library

spacer spacer

Coach of Year

spacer spacer

After losing one Interscholastic League of Honolulu Player of the Year to graduation, Punahou came up with another this season.

Sophomore Shawna-Lei Kuehu won the honor after a recent vote of league coaches. A 5-foot-10 post, Kuehu's all-around ability can be seen in her per-game averages in ILH competition: 19.7 points, 12.5 rebounds, 2.6 steals, 2.6 blocks and 2.0 assists.

She had a double-double (double figures in points and rebounds) in 10 of the Buffanblu's 11 ILH games, and the only time she didn't do it was against Iolani in the first round, when she had 11 points and eight rebounds.

She peaked when it counted most, scoring 20 points in a 50-43 victory over Iolani to force a playoff for the league championship, then pouring in 28 points and grabbing 15 rebounds in the 46-40 title game win over the Raiders.

Kuehu, who follows 2005 grad Shanna-Lei Dacanay as ILH Player of the Year, is joined on the all-star first team by seniors Tatri Lorenzo of Kamehameha and Hennasea Tokumura of Iolani, juniors Nicole Fu of Maryknoll and Chelsea Deptula of Punahou, and sophomore Jamie Smith of Iolani.

Punahou's Mike Taylor was named Coach of the Year for the fourth straight season after guiding the Buffanblu to their fourth straight league crown.

• • •

First team

Player School Cl.
Chelsea Deptula Punahou Jr.
Nicole Fu Maryknoll Jr.
Shawna-Lei Kuehu Punahou So.
Tatri Lorenzo Kamehameha Sr.
Jamie Smith Iolani So.
Hennasea Tokumura Iolani Sr.

Player of the Year: Shawna-Lei Kuehu, Punahou

Coach of the Year: Mike Taylor, Punahou

Second team
Player School Cl.
Keilyn Fujioka Iolani Sr.
Shaena-Lyn Kuehu Punahou So.
Meghan Laughlin Mid-Pacific Sr.
Keri Nakamura Mid-Pacific Sr.
Samantha Saito Sacred Hearts Sr.

Honorable Mention
Iolani: Alana Matayoshi. Mid-Pacific: Johnelle Kapua, Kristina Lin, Crisi Nihipali. Kamehameha: Miki Nakamura, Johanna Sai, Ana Viena-Lota. Maryknoll: Kristen Canencia, Kristie Watanabe. Punahou: Elizabeth Abe, Mahina Macfarlane. Sacred Hearts: Rebecca Debo, Raecha-Ann Kauahikaua, Kuhina Luis.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.