Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Little sister Wily steps up big OIA East

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Coach of Year

spacer spacer

Artevia Wily stepped out of the shadows of sister Latoya by scoring in doubles figures in all 12 of Kahuku's regular-season games.

JOAQUIN SIOPACK | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

Senior guard was consistent scoring threat for Kahuku

Kahuku senior Artevia Wily may have started her basketball career in the shadows of older sister Latoya, who was an Advertiser All-State first-team selection in 2003 and 2004.

But Artevia, a 5-foot-7 guard, officially established a name for herself when O'ahu Interscholastic Association East coaches named her the division's Player of the Year in a recent vote.

Wily averaged 18.4 points per game, including a 29-point effort in a 76-74 double-overtime loss to Kalaheo, and scored in double figures in all 12 of the Red Raiders' regular-season games.

Wily is joined on the OIA East all-star first team by senior teammate Camilla Ah-Hoy, Kaiser senior Sharde Pratt, Kalaheo junior Shanadee Canon and Roosevelt sophomore Iwalani Rodrigues. Pratt is the only repeat first-team selection.

Roosevelt's Bobby Keanini was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Rough Riders to an 11-1 record and the East championship.

• • •

First team

Player School Cl.
Camilla Ah Hoy Kahuku Sr.
Shanadee Cannon Kalaheo Jr.
Sharde Pratt Kaiser Sr.
Iwalani Rodrigues Roosevelt So.
Artevia Wily Kahuku Sr.
Player of the Year:
Artevia Wily, Kahuku
Coach of the Year:
Bobby Keanini, Roosevelt

Second team

Player School Cl.
Tati Beasley Roosevelt Sr.
Kendra Fischer Kalaheo Sr.
Shannon Miyashiro Roosevelt Sr.
Britni Ronolo Moanalua So.
Chelsie Sato McKinley Jr.

Honorable Mention
Farrington: Kapiolani Alatasi, C'ani Kealoha, Janiene Sablan. Kahuku: Brittany Fesola'i, Lily Latu, Charlotte Livai, Christine Meredith, Lenora Nauahi, Ane Vea. Kaiser: Keely Bitanga, Amber Nakachi, Chelsy Okuma, Renee Shitanishi, Aja Yamamoto. Kalaheo: Hoku Kaiu-Denning, Charitie Kaliko Kepa, Delicia Wilson. McKinley: Jorina Faletoi, Kaitlyn Ikehara, Crystal Tafai, Pearly Togiai, Jessiree Victorino. Moanalua: Nikol Felder, Jade Miller, Jamie Leigh Ronolo. Roosevelt: Shandree Armstead, Kayleen Ka'ai'iai, Noelle Kawelo, Tiana Sugui, Dianna Zane.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.