Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Newcomer Smith helped Radford win third in row

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Kamia Smith did more picking up than sitting down as she helped compensate for the loss of a two-time all-star in leading Radford to its third consecutive O‘ahu Interscholastic Association West title.

JOAQUIN SIOPACK | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

De Silva
Coach of Year

spacer spacer

Coach of Year

spacer spacer

When two-time O'ahu Interscholastic Association West first-team all-star Tereva Moore transferred from Radford to the Mainland last summer, the Rams knew it would leave a huge void.

But senior Kamia Smith joined the team and picked up much of the slack, averaging 9.2 points per game and helping Radford win its third straight division championship with an 11-1 record. In recognition of this, Smith was named West Player of the Year in a recent vote of league coaches.

She is joined on the all-star first team by sophomore teammate Marlena Malepeai and seniors Christina Korodan of Mililani, Darlyn Livae of Campbell and Vernadine Vickers of Nanakuli.

Radford's David Lane and Mililani's Scott De Silva were named Co-Coaches of the Year. Lane overcame an offseason illness to lead the Rams to a 10-0 start before they fell to De Silva's Trojans, who finished second with a 9-3 record.

Both teams advanced to the state tournament, breaking a three-year spell in which the Western Division was shut out from earning state berths.

• • •

First team

Player School Cl.
Christina Korodan Mililani Sr.
Darlyn Livae Campbell Sr.
Marlena Malepeai Radford So.
Kamia Smith Radford Sr.
Vernadine Vickers Nänäkuli Sr.

Player of the Year: Kamia Smith, Radford

Co-Coaches of the Year:
Scott De Silva, Mililani;
David Lane, Radford

Second team

Player School Cl.
Ashley Dela-Cruz Kapolei So.
Brittini Fuller Radford So.
Marquesha McVea Leilehua Jr.
Jolene Realin Mililani So.
Brittaney Stafford Leilehua Jr.

Honorable Mention
Campbell: Jenna Contemplo, Berlyn Devera, Jennifer Sweeney. Kapolei: Lehua Figueroa, Charmaine Jackson. Leilehua: Isis Atualevao, Charlene Borromeo, Uilani Forgione, Gabriella Pascual. Nänäkuli: Sasha Montez, Lahela Sylva-Kanagusuku. Pearl City: Tiani Alatani. Radford: Nicole Grebe, Chadney Thompson, Chelsea-Ann Villanueva.

Reach Wes Nakama at wnakama@honoluluadvertiser.com.