Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser

Updated at 4:27 p.m., Monday, November 27, 2006

UH's Jones finalist for national coaching award

Advertiser Staff

University of Hawai'i football coach June Jones was named one of nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Jones, 53, is in his eighth season as Warriors head coach. UH is 10-2 this season and will end its regular season Saturday against Oregon State at Aloha Stadium.

Other finalists are Art Briles of Houston, Lloyd Carr of Michigan, Jim Grobe of Wake Forest, Bronco Mendenhall of BYU, Houston Nutt of Arkansas, Chris Peterson of Boise State, Greg Schiano of Rutgers and Bob Stoops of Oklahoma.

Members of the Football Writers Association of America will vote for their top three choices. The winner will be announced on Jan. 5 in Glendale, Ariz.

Last year's winner was Charlie Weis of Notre Dame.

The award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach.