Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, February 13, 2007

Kaua'i, Kamehameha-Maui clinch state basketball berths

Advertiser Staff

Basil Walton had a game-high 22 points and 12 rebounds last night to help Kaua'i hold off visiting Waimea, 73-70, in overtime in the Kaua'i Interscholastic Federation championship game.

Tyrus Ceria-Lux added 17 points and Jordan Cox contributed 13 points and five rebounds for the Red Raiders, who improved to 7-2 and will be the KIF's lone representative in next week's inaugural Division II state tournament.

Chris Newcombe scored 18 points and grabbed five rebounds, Dana Tayco had 15 points and Calsen Agrade added 14 points and five rebounds to lead the Menehunes (6-3).

Kaua'i sank free throws to open a six-point lead late in overtime and Waimea hit a 3-pointer in the closing seconds for the final margin.

Waimea won the KIF first round and Kaua'i won the second round, setting up last night's winner-take-all championship game.

WAIMEA (6-3) 12 17 13 20 8 70

KAUA'I (7-2) 13 17 11 21 11 73

WAIMEA Calsen Agrade 14, Chris Newcombe 18, Clareson Torres 4, Kaimana Girod 3, Dana Tayco 15, Kyle Achuela 2, Vincent Vea 0, Bradley Frasco 0, Rolden Villanueva 0, Greg Griffin 2, Keelan Sakuda 0, Vincent Geronimo 12. Totals 23 22-28 70.

KAUA'I Jordan Cox 13, Travis Stine 1, Bradley Semana 4, Justin Ramos 6, Basil Walton 22, Travis Stancil 2, Tyrus Ceria-Lux 17, Damien Girard 8. Totals 19 30-43 73. 3-point goals: Waimea 2 (Girod, Tayco). Kaua'i 5 (Ceria-Lux 3, Cox, Ramos).

Reported by Joel Pahukula


Kamehameha-Maui (7-1) is the Division I regular-season champion and has clinched a state tournament berth.

The Warriors secured the title when Lahainaluna upset Baldwin, 67-66, in the regular season finale on Saturday.

Kamehameha-Maui also earned a first-round bye in this week's MIL postseason tournament. It will play the winner of tomorrow's play-in game between Maui and King Kekaulike. In the other semifinal Thursday, Baldwin (6-2) will face Lahainaluna (4-3).

The championship game is set for 7 p.m. Friday. If Kamehameha-Maui wins, the Warriors will be declared MIL overall champs. If another team wins the tournament, it will play Kamehameha-Maui in a winner-take-all playoff for the title.

In Division II, Lana'i, Moloka'i, St. Anthony and Seabury Hall finished the regular season tied for first place with 7-3 records. Lana'i defeated St. Anthony and Moloka'i beat Seabury Hall in a special playoff last night, so Lana'i and Moloka'i will play tonight for the regular-season title and state berth.