Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, April 24, 2009

Healey awarded for 'Monster Tube' ride

 •  Early walk-up entry for Honolulu Marathon

Advertiser Staff

A weekly feature about surfing in Hawai'i. Submit comments or story ideas to dmorinaga@honoluluadvertiser.com or call 535-8101.

Mark Healey of Sunset Beach won the "Monster Tube" category at the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards last week.

Healey received $5,000 for riding through a giant barreling wave at a remote spot called "Yeti" off Oregon last September.

The Billabong XXL awards recognizes the biggest and best waves surfed around the world during the 2008-09 season. All entries must be documented via still photography or video.

The winners were announced during a ceremony in Anaheim, Calif., last Friday.

Greg Long of California won the top award Ride of the Year. He received $50,000 for surfing a massive wave off Capetown, South Africa, last July.

Garrett McNamara of Sunset Beach placed fourth in the Ride of the Year category. He received $1,500 for his wave at Teahupoo, Tahiti, last April.


Billabong will remain as the title sponsor of the prestigious Pipeline Masters men's surfing contest through 2012.

Billabong became the title sponsor of the event in 2007.

"It goes without saying, this iconic event is still the benchmark for professional surfing and we are proud to be associated with the Pipeline Masters and all its history," said Graham Stapelberg, Billabong's vice president of marketing.

The Billabong Pipeline Masters will offer a $340,000 prize purse in December 2009, and will serve as the final stop on the ASP World Tour.

It will also be the third of three events in the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.


After just two events on the 2009 ASP World Tour, Joel Parkinson of Australia has a commanding lead in the overall ratings.

Parkinson won the first two contests both held in Australia and has 2,400 points. Fellow Australian Mick Fanning is second with 1,608, and Fred Patacchia Jr. of Hale'iwa is third with 1,476.

In the 34-year history of the ASP tour, a surfer has won the first two contests of the year 10 times. In eight of those 10 years, the surfer went on to win the world title that year.


Rainbow Sandals will be the title sponsor for the 13th annual Moloka'i-to-O'ahu Paddleboard Race.

More than 100 competitors from around the world are expected to enter this year's race, which is scheduled for July 26.

The 32-mile race across the Kaiwi Channel is considered the world championship of long-distance racing for paddleboarding and stand-up paddleboarding.

This year's race will offer a record prize purse of $16,000, including $3,000 to the winners.