Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, April 20, 2010

NBA: Magic's Howard wins consecutive defensive player awards

Associated Press Writer

ORLANDO, Fla. Dwight Howard has won his second straight NBA defensive player of the year award after becoming the only player to lead the league in blocks and rebounds in the same season twice let alone in consecutive years.

Orlando Magic coach Stan Van Gundy confirmed his All-Star center will accept the award at a news conference Tuesday at 2 p.m.

Howard averaged 13.2 rebounds and 2.8 blocks per game this season, powering the Magic to the league's second-best record behind Cleveland. Only Bill Walton, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Hakeem Olajuwon and Ben Wallace each led the NBA in those categories once in the same season.

Howard already was the youngest player to win the award last season. Now 24, players and coaches believe he could take the honors for years to come.