Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, April 21, 2010

HPU picks its women’s volleyball All-Decade Team

Hawaii Pacific University Athletics

The Hawai'i Pacific University athletics department named the Women's Volleyball All-Decade Team, selected by the Sports Information Directors at HPU from 2000-2009. Debbie Sant'Anna was voted Player of the Decade, and Tricia Yoshimura was named the Defensive Specialist of the Decade.

The nomination and voting process was conducted by HPU sports information directors Trey Garman, Jarnett Lono, Jeff Harada, and John Barry, and was limited to players lettering for the Lady Sea Warriors at any point from 2000-2009. Of the 11 selections, seven were from Brazil and two from Hawai'i. 

"These individuals represent the outstanding quality of student-athletes HPU has been so fortunate to have on its teams this past decade," praised HPU President Chatt Wright. "We are grateful to each of them along with the many other tremendous young ladies who have established the championship tradition of Sea Warrior volleyball." 

Sant'Anna's career spanned across two decades (1998-2000) and included two NCAA Division II National Championships. She holds the single game and single season records in kills, having recorded 32 versus UC-Riverside (9/15/98) and 620 in the 1998 season. She also posted an HPU record 120 career aces. Sant'Anna was named to the AVCA (American Volleyball Coaches Association) Division II All-America Team in 1999 and 2000, and earned AVCA All-Region honors in each of her three seasons. She also holds the HPU record for total kills (116) in the NCAA National Tournament. 

Yoshimura is the only member of the All-Decade Team still active as a Sea Warrior player. The 2010 season will be her third and final campaign with HPU. Yoshimura (Honolulu, HI) transferred to HPU in 2008 after one season at Oregon State University. In just her first season, she shattered the HPU record with 551 digs on the season, and was named the PacWest Conference Libero of the Year. 

Also recognized was the 2000 HPU Team as Team of the Decade. The 2000 Sea Warriors, guided by Coach Tita Ahuna, became the only NCAA Division II team in history to record a perfect season (28-0). Sant'Anna was joined by fellow All-Decade selections Susie Garbelotti, Flavia Gabinio, Roberta Robert, Nia Tuitele, and Andrea Wean as members of arguably one of the top teams in NCAA Division II history.


HPU Women's Volleyball All-Decade Team 

Flavia Brakling                                

Flavia Gabinio                                   

Susie Garbelotti                                               

Nadica Karleusa                                               

Barbara Martin   

Vera Oliveira                                     

Roberta Robert                                

Nia Tuitele                                         

Andrea Wean                                   

Debbie Sant'Anna                           Player of the Decade    

Tricia Yoshimura                             Defensive Specialist of the Decade


Team of the Decade                       2000