Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, April 22, 2010

UH's Umlauft MPSF Freshman of Year; Iolani alum Lawson Player of Year

Advertiser Staff

Iolani alum Brad Lawson, an outside hitter for Stanford, today was named the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation's Player of the Year for men's volleyball.

He was among six players with Hawaii ties named to the MPSF's first, second, or third teams.

University of Hawaii opposite attacker Jonas Umlauft today was named MPSF's Freshman of the Year, but he did not earn a place on the All-MPSF first team.

Instead, Umlauft was selected to the MPSF second team.

UH outside hitter Joshua Walker is on the third team while setter Nejc Zemljak is honorable mention.

'Iolani alum Kawika Shoji (setter) of Stanford was named to the first team.

Erik Shoji, a Punahou alum who also plays libero for Stanford, and Futi Tavana, a Brigham Young middle blocker from Kaua'i, were named to the second team.


Brad Lawson, OH, Stanford

Kawika Shoji, S, Stanford

Jacek Ratajczak, MB, CS Northridge

Kevin McKniff, MB, CS Northridge

Carson Clark, Opp, UC Irvine

Andrew Stewart, OH, BYU

Cory Riecks, OH, Pepperdine


Jordan DuFault, OH, UC Irvine

Futi Tavana, MB, BYU

Csey Krider, S, Pepperdine

Erik Shoji, L, Stanford

Jonas Umlauft, Opp, UH

Garrett Muagututia, OH, UCLA

Evan Romero, Opp, Stanford


Jeff Menzel, OH, UC Santa Barbara

Murphy Troy, Opp, USC

Robb Stowell, Opp, BYU

Dean Bittner, Opp, Long Beach State

Joshua Walker, OH, UH

J.D. Schleppenbach, OH, Pepperdine

Antwain Aguillard, MB, Long Beach State

Honorable Mention

Setters: Matt Stork (CS Northridge), Reed Chilton (BYU), Nejc Zemljak (UH), Riley McKibbin (USC), Phil Bannan (UC San Diego).

Middles; Tyler Jaynes (Pepperdine), Russell Lavaja (BYU), Dan Alexander (LBSU), Scott Slaughter (UCSB).

Outside hitters: Mike Gaudino (CS Northridge), Tony Ciarelli (USC), Jason Spangler (UC San Diego).

Libero: Andy McGuire (UC Santa Barbara).

Freshman Team

Opposite: Jonas Umlauft (UH).

Outside hitter: Taylor Hughes (Pacific).

Middles: Dylan Davis (UC Santa Barbara), Cyrus Kiani (UC San Diego), Nikola Vukicevic (Pacific).

OH/Libero: Maddison McKibbin (USC).

Player of the Year: Brad Lawson (Stanford)

Freshman of the Year: Jonas Umlauft (UH)

Coach of the Year: John Kosty (Stanford)