Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, April 23, 2010

6 Hawaii students selected as Presidential Scholars semifinalists

Advertiser Staff

Six Hawaii students received congratulations from Gov. Linda Lingle today for being selected as semifinalists in the 2010 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The four students from O'ahu, one from Maui and one from the Big Island are among 560 nationwide semifinalists.

The Presidential Scholars are one of the nation's highest honors for high school students and represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America's young people.

Hawai'i's semifinalists are:

  • Lauren E. Clark, Seabury Hall

  • Nolan M. Kamitaki, Waiakea High School

  • Kathryn M. Lau, Punahou School

  • Eric J. Liaw, Punahou School

  • Caitlin E. Mori, Sacred Hearts Academy

  • George H. Tang, Punahou School

    "Hawai'i is proud of these six outstanding scholars who have excelled academically and who have made positive contributions to their school and community," Lingle said in a statement. "As these young Hawai'i scholars continue their academic pursuits and prepare for their careers, I have great confidence that they will be strong leaders and role models in our state and nation."

    Earlier this year, 42 Hawai'i students were identified as Presidential Scholar candidates based on their academic accomplishments, including their scores on the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment, Lingle's office said.

    The Presidential Scholars are expected to be announced next month.