Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, February 4, 2010

4 former coaches selected to '09 class

Advertiser Staff

A coaching foursome makes up the University of Hawai'i Sports Circle of Honor Class of 2009.

The late Jyun "Curly" Hirota and Terry Albritton, and Jim Schwitters and Vince Goo will be officially announced tomorrow at a media luncheon hosted by presenting sponsor Bank of Hawai'i.

It is the 28th class in a program designed to "recognize individuals and teams that have contributed to the growth, history and tradition of UH Athletics."

The new inductees will be honored at halftime of Saturday's men's basketball game against Fresno State at the Stan Sheriff Center.

Hirota was UH's baseball coach from 1963 to '65, following an all-pro Japanese baseball career and a two-sport (baseball and football) career in Mānoa.

Albritton broke the world record in the shot put at Cooke Field when he was a UH junior in 1976. He won the NCAA title a year later. He went on to serve as UH's strength coach.

Schwitters held the record as the winningest coach in NCAA tennis history before retiring after 38 years at UH.

Goo, son of former UH men's coach Ah Chew Goo, coached the Rainbow Wahine for 17 seasons and retired as UH's winningest basketball coach, with 334 victories and 10 postseason appearances.



The 42nd-ranked University of Hawai'i men's team won its fifth match in six starts yesterday, beating San Francisco, 5-2, at the Olympic Club.

Dennis Lajola, Andreas Weber and Leo Rosenberg all won in straight sets to remain unbeaten. Jeremy Tweedt and Philipp Eberhard rallied for three-set victories.