Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, February 5, 2010

NFL: Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice frontrunners for Hall of Fame

P Football Writer

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. — Emmitt Smith and Jerry Rice are virtual shoo-ins for election into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The NFL’s career rushing and receiving leaders are among 17 finalists, including two senior committee candidates, who will be considered Saturday. Both are in their first year of eligibility.
Other finalists are receivers Cris Carter, Tim Brown and Andre Reid; running back Roger Craig; center Dermontti Dawson; defensive ends Richard Dent and Charles Haley; defensive tackles Cortez Kennedy and John Randle; tight end Shannon Sharpe; linebacker Rickey Jackson; guard Russ Grimm; and coach Don Coryell.
Senior nominees are defensive back Dick LeBeau, now Pittsburgh’s defensive coordinator, and running back Floyd Little.