Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, February 5, 2010

Baldwin corners Kapolei, 1-0

By Leila Wai
Advertiser Staff Writer

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Baldwin midfielder Amber-Lei Madriaga takes it on the head before scoring the only goal of the game.

DEBORAH BOOKER | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

WAIPAHU — A decade after winning its first state title, the Baldwin girls soccer team is back in the state semifinals.

Third-seeded Baldwin returns to the semifinals for the first time since 2006 after beating Kapolei, 1-0, in the quarterfinals of the JN Automotive Group/Hawai'i High School Athletic Association Girls Soccer Division I State Championships yesterday afternoon at the Waipi'o Peninsula Soccer Stadium.

"First time we've been back to the state tournament since 2006," Baldwin coach Kawika Keator pointed out. "We're still really young. We have nine sophomores — six start."

But two of those sophomores contributed to the lone goal of the day, with midfielder Amber-Lei Madriaga scoring on a header off a corner kick by midfielder Amanda Jorgensen in the 56th minute.

"I know Amanda always nails her corner kicks, and I knew one of us would get to it," Madriaga said. "I had faith in her.

"We haven't been here for a very long time; coming back, it feels good. We're so excited, we're so hyped and we want this, so hopefully we'll get something out of it."

Baldwin (14-0-1) plays Mililani (16-0-0) tonight at 7 p.m. Punahou (11-1-0) and Kalani (14-2-1) play in the other semifinal at 5 p.m.

"We always tell them the first game is going to be the hardest, and for all of them, this is their first state tournament," Keator said. "They had to come out hard in the first game. In the first half, we came out tentative, but hopefully now they got it out of their system and they'll come out harder tomorrow."

The Bears, the Maui Interscholastic League champions, were the first non-O'ahu team to capture a state title, winning in 2000 and 2001 before there were Division I and II classifications; Kamehameha-Hawai'i won a Division II title in 2008.

It was an evenly played first half yesterday, with Kapolei taking five shots to Baldwin's four. Kapolei senior forward Sirena Reyes broke away on a long pass from sophomore midfielder Summer Reyes in the 20th minute, but her shot was stopped by Baldwin goalkeeper Lisa Chur.

The Bears had their own chance just before the half but Ayesha Pladera's point-blank shot was stopped by Kapolei goalkeeper Kiana Kaiwi.

In the second half, both teams appeared to have point-blank shots off crosses, but both went high, and Baldwin's Jorgensen took a shot that hit the goalpost.

"After yesterday's win (in penalty kicks over 'Iolani), we were confident coming in today, but we didn't take Baldwin lightly," Kapolei (9-5-3) coach Brian Beck said. "We needed to score early, and we had some early opportunities, but that's what kills, the ones that should have gone in. Baldwin had their chances, too. Just with the second half, we had injuries from yesterday's game and it kind of took a toll."



Falcons junior midfielder Arden Matro scored after a long run down the field off a pass from senior forward Sonya Aguirre in the 15th minute, then Aguirre scored in the 42nd and 64th minutes as unseeded Kalani blanked No. 4 Hilo (12-1-2).


Punahou midfielder Kendra Trifonovitch scored in the 22nd and 38th minutes to lead the Buffanblu, the top seed and Interscholastic League of Honolulu champion. Sydney Meheula (32nd minute), Lauren Stollar (50th) and Dempsey Banks (80th) each added goals.

Moanalua's Tiana Fujimoto scored in the 21st minute and Storm Kenui added a goal in the 74th minute.


Mari Miyashiro scored the lone first-half goal in the 33rd minute and Chelsea Miyake (43rd), Lauren Uehara (47th) and Kellie Kawamoto (80th) added goals in the second half for the Trojans, the No. 2 seed and O'ahu Interscholastic Association champions.



KK—Kelci Ellis (29th minute), Malisa Hiraga (54th), Maya Palaroan 2 (57th, 63rd).


IOL—Kama Pascua (3rd), Elissa Minamishin (7th), Krystal Pascua 2 (16th, 37th), Alyssa Kim (25th), Twyla Hamasaki (57th), Amanda McCaskil (65th), Kelli Kaneta (69th), Lauren Brown (80th).