Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, February 28, 2010

Hawaii's state coastal parks to reopen

Advertiser Staff

Fifteen state parks and coastal areas will remained closed until Sunday morning following the cancellation of Saturday’s tsunami warning, the Department of Land and Natural Resources said.

The parks and areas are:

Oahu: Kaena, Sand Island, Malaekahana, Diamond Head and Kahana.

Maui: Makena and Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve (northern section only)

Kauai: Haena, Na Pali and Polihale

Hawaii: Kekaha Kai, Kiholo, Lapakahi, Hapuna and Waimanu Valley campground

The department reminds boaters, divers, fishers and other beachgoers to remain cautious, as unusual currents may continue into the evening.