Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, January 13, 2010

NFL: Titans RB Johnson AP's top offensive player

Associated Press


The NFL Offensive Players of the Year named by The Associated Press, selected by a nationwide panel of the media:

2009 Chris Johnson, Tennessee, RB

2008 Drew Brees, New Orleans, QB

2007 Tom Brady, New England, QB

2006 LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego, RB

2005 Shaun Alexander, Seattle, RB

2004 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis, QB

2003 Jamal Lewis, Baltimore, RB

2002 Priest Holmes, Kansas City, RB

2001 Marshall Faulk, St. Louis, RB

2000 Marshall Faulk, St. Louis, RB

1999 Marshall Faulk, St. Louis, RB

1998 Terrell Davis, Denver, RB

1997 Barry Sanders, Detroit, RB

1996 Terrell Davis, Denver, RB

1995 Brett Favre, Green Bay, QB

1994 Barry Sanders, Detroit, RB

1993 Jerry Rice, San Francisco, WR

1992 Steve Young, San Francisco, QB

1991 Thurman Thomas, Buffalo, RB

1990 Warren Moon, Houston, QB

1989 Joe Montana, San Francisco, QB

1988 Roger Craig, San Francisco, RB

1987 Jerry Rice, San Francisco, WR

1986 Eric Dickerson, Los Angeles Rams, RB

1985 Marcus Allen, Los Angeles Raiders, RB

1984 Dan Marino, Miami, QB

1983 Joe Theismann, Washington, QB

1982 Dan Fouts, San Diego, QB

1981 Ken Anderson, Cincinnati, QB

1980 Earl Campbell, Houston, RB

1979 Earl Campbell, Houston, RB

1978 Earl Campbell, Houston, RB

1977 Walter Payton, Chicago, RB

1976 Bert Jones, Baltimore, QB

1975 Fran Tarkenton, Minnesota, QB

1974 Ken Stabler, Oakland, QB

1973 Chuck Foreman, Minnesota, RB

spacer spacer

NEW YORK With a 2,000-yard rushing season and the most yards from scrimmage in NFL history, Tennessee Titans running back Chris Johnson has run away with The Associated Press 2009 NFL Offensive Player of the Year award.

Considered the fastest man in the NFL, Johnson was a blur for defenses in gaining 2,509 yards overall, including 2,000 rushing. He is the sixth player to gain 2,000 yards on the ground and the first to finish with at least 2,000 rushing and 500 receiving (503).

That earned the second-year pro 38 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Johnson easily beat New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees, who received nine votes.