Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Munos, Eharis best of Division II

Advertiser Staff

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser
spacer spacer

Two of the Interscholastic League of Honolulu's most potent Division II scorers, Sacred Hearts senior Rayna Munos and University High junior Quynne Eharis, shared Player of the Year honors after a recent vote by ILH coaches.

Munos helped the Lancers finish the regular season with a 15-0 record. She had a season-high 31 points in a crucial 61-47 victory over Word of Life, with starting post player Naihe Paikai out due to injury.

Earlier in the season, Munos drained five 3-pointers and finished with 22 points in another key win over Hawai'i Baptist.

Eharis had five games with 20 or more points, including 25 vs. La Pietra, 24 against Christian Academy and 23 vs. Hawai'i Baptist. She also scored 22 in a 44-43 victory over Lutheran, including the game-winning free throw.

Munos and Eharis are joined on the ILH DII all-star first team by Sacred Hearts junior Paikai, Word of Life senior Phoibe Fetu and junior Chanelle Maldonado, Hawai'i Baptist senior Jennifer Young and Saint Francis senior Nicole Yuen.

University High's Bryan Nakamura was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Junior Rainbows to a 10-8 league record and a state tournament berth.

The ILH also selected DI-AA all-stars for the first time, recognizing players from schools that also had DI teams. Kamehameha led the way with seniors Rachel Kaneakua, Larissa Ogawa and Tehani Tamaye on the first team, joined by Punahou senior Jasmine Kauka and junior Sarah Ann Ota.

'Iolani junior Jelene Wong rounds out the first team.

• • •