Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, March 18, 2010

Mid-Pacific pair kicked it up a notch during season

Advertiser Staff

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Mid-Pacific's Kennedy Spencer, left, and Cody Sullivan, right, were named co-Offensive Players of the Year in the ILH. Punahou's Jonathon Cloutier was Defensive Player of the Year.

NORMAN SHAPIRO | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer
Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Jayson Abe

spacer spacer

All season long, Mid-Pacific teammates Cody Sullivan and Kennedy Spencer battled for the league lead in goals.

In the end, they tied in scoring with 13 and also shared the top honor of being named Interscholastic League of Honolulu co-Offensive Players of the Year.

Seeing it all first-hand was their coach, Jayson Abe.

Sullivan, he said, "is just a talented soccer player. He has size, speed and talent; he's the complete package."

Spencer is "very quiet and soft spoken, but when he steps on the field, he's so aggressive and he makes things look so effortless when he's out there. He makes everyone look like they're playing in slow motion."

Punahou senior defender Jonathon Cloutier was selected as the ILH Defensive Player of the Year after helping the Buffanblu allow a league-low eight goals.

"Every time we played them, he was solid for Punahou defensively," Abe said. "He keeps everybody in line and does a great job of organizing that back line. He's smart and anticipates the plays one or two steps in advance."

A trio of 'Iolani players were named to the first team as forwards: Nick Goo, Patrick Shimoko and Jordan Lee. Goo scored 12 goals and Lee eight, and Shimoko also played in the midfield.

Four midfielders made the first team, including three from Punahou: Cade Ito, Christian Patmont (four goals) and Scott Granger (3). Ryan Ho, who led Kamehameha with 10 goals, was the fourth midfielder selected.

'Iolani's Jershon Baldomero, Punahou's Cody Sia and Mid-Pacific's Brendan Wesley-Smith are the first-team defenders.

Goalkeeper Charlie Yamamoto of Punahou rounds out the first team.

Goo, Sullivan, Cloutier and Sia are repeat first-team selections. Wesley-Smith, Ho and Baldomero moved up from the second team.

Abe, in his first year at the helm, led the Owls to their first ILH overall title and was named ILH Coach of the Year.

• • •